Florida State QB Christian Ponder is a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award

Florida State Seminole's very own Christian Ponder has been selected as a semifinalist for the Maxwell Award which is presented annually to college football's player of the year. 

Ponder, who wasn't even on the watch list as of a week ago, is one of 16 semifinalist for the award that goes to the nation's top player.


Here's the official release from FSU:

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State junior quarterback Christian Ponder has been selected as one of 16 semifinalists for the 73rd Maxwell Award, presented to the nation’s collegiate player of the year.

Maxwell Football Club president Ron Jaworski made the announcement Wednesday morning.

Ponder, who was added the to award’s watch list on Friday, is one of seven quarterbacks and 10 underclassmen among the semifinalists. The Colleyville, Tex.., native leads the Atlantic Coast Conference in passing yards, total offense an completion percentage during his breakout season. He ranks among the top five nationally in four statistical categories.

Quarterback Charlie Ward is the only former Florida State player to win the Maxwell Award (1993).

Voting for the Maxwell Award, open only to club members, NCAA head coaches, sports information directors and selected media members, will be conducted through Nov. 22 with the three finalists announced Nov. 23. The winner will announced at the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show on Dec. 10, 2009.

The Semifinalists were announced today, and the three finalists for the award will be announced November 23rd. The winner of the 2009 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10, 2009. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah’s Entertainment Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

The panel voting for the Maxwell Award includes all members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches, and selected national media, are the only one's eligible to vote for the Maxwell Award.

Here's the complete list of semifinalists:

  • Jahvid Best, University of California Berkley, RB, JR
  • Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame, QB, JR
  • Noel Devine, West Virginia University, RB, JR
  • Toby Gerhart, Stanford University, RB, SR
  • Mark Ingram, University of Alabama, RB, SOPH
  • Case Keenum, University of Houston, QB, JR
  • Dan LeFevour, Central Michigan University, QB, SR
  • Dion Lewis, University of Pittsburgh, RB, FR
  • Ryan Mathews, Fresno State University, RB, JR
  • Colt McCoy, University of Texas, QB, SR
  • Kellen Moore, Boise State University, QB, SOPH
  • Christian Ponder, Florida State University, QB, JR
  • Jacquizz Rodgers, Oregon State University, RB, SOPH
  • Jordan Shipley, University of Texas, WR, SR
  • Golden Tate, Notre Dame, WR, JR
  • Tim Tebow, University of Florida, QB, SR


    Log In Sign Up

    Log In Sign Up

    Forgot password?

    We'll email you a reset link.

    If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

    Forgot password?

    Try another email?

    Almost done,

    By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

    Join Tomahawk Nation

    You must be a member of Tomahawk Nation to participate.

    We have our own Community Guidelines at Tomahawk Nation. You should read them.

    Join Tomahawk Nation

    You must be a member of Tomahawk Nation to participate.

    We have our own Community Guidelines at Tomahawk Nation. You should read them.




    Choose an available username to complete sign up.

    In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.