FSU Finishes 15th in 2008-09 Directors Cup Standings


The Learfield Sports Directors’ Cup, which is presented annually by the nation’s athletics directors, recognizes the schools with the best overall sports performances in an academic year. Points are awarded based on finishes and participation in 20 NCAA Division I sports.

It is a program that honors institutions maintaining a broad-based program, achieving success in many sports, both men's and women's. Each institution is awarded points in a pre-determined number of sports. In Division I, there are 10 men’s and 10 women’s sports which are eligible for points. Points for the Directors' Cup are based on order of finish in various NCAA sponsored championships, or in the case of Division I Football, media based polls.

With 18 of its 19 sports advancing to the postseason, Florida State maintained athletic excellence as reflected by its No. 15 ranking. This marked the third-straight year the Seminoles have placed in 15th position in the nation. Florida State ranked third in the standings among ACC schools with North Carolina and Virginia finishing second and eighth, respectively.

Florida State enjoyed five ACC championships -- including the first in program history for women’s indoor track and field -- as well as11 NCAA individual national champions, 36 ACC individual championships, 90 All-America selections, 79 All-ACC honors and 17 end-of-the-year ACC awards.

In the Directors Cup race, FSU finished nationally in 15th place with a total of 945 points. The following are the sports in which FSU was awarded points and their nationally ranked finish.  The teams in BOLD finished their seasons in the Top 10 Nationally.

Football #23

Men’s Basketball #33

Men’s Baseball #9

Women’s Basketball #17

Men’s Track & Field #2

Women’s Track & Field #4

Men’s Indoor Track & Field #3

Women’s Indoor Track & Field #8

Women’s Cross Country #3

Men’s Cross Country #26

Women’s Soccer #5

Men’s Swimming & Diving #20

Women’s Golf #43

Men’s Golf #39

Women’s Softball #33

Men’s Tennis #9

Women’s Tennis #17

Keep in mind that FSU does not participate in many of the sports which are point eligible, such as field hockey, men’s soccer, volleyball, water polo, ice hockey, wrestling, bowling, gymnastics, skiing, rifle, lacrosse, and rowing.  Also, some of these sports are quite popular at other institutions in different parts of the country.

Incredibly, Stanford won for the 15th straight year, which is quite a accomplishment,  and as the winners they will receive a crystal Waterford Trophy.

Incidentally, our very own, and your favorite Athletic Director Randy Spetman, is currently serving as president of the NACDA (National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics), which is the governing body for this award.

2008-09 Season In Review

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Tomahawk Nation

You must be a member of Tomahawk Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Tomahawk Nation. You should read them.

Join Tomahawk Nation

You must be a member of Tomahawk Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Tomahawk Nation. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.