ACC reverses field after intense criticism: Bradham hit was legal

After intense scrutiny over the preposterous explanation of an egregious missed call, the ACC has pulled an about face and has ruled that Nigel Bradham's hit on Laron Byrd was completely legal.

Hear Michael Kelly (ACC associate commissioner) on Jeff Cameron.

Here is the video of the completely legal hit by Bradham that saw Bradham flagged and ejected from the best game of his career:

Here's the statement from the confernece:

By Brandon Mellor on November 14, 2011 5:58 PM | No Comments | No TrackBacks

Statement from the Atlantic Coast Conference:

The Atlantic Coast Conference Office has completed its NCAA mandated review of the play that occurred at 1:58 of the 4th quarter of the Miami @ Florida State game in which Florida State's Nigel Bradham was flagged for "Unsportsmanlike Conduct- Targeting an Opponent."

Plays involving unsportsmanlike conduct and player safety have been an increasing point of emphasis within NCAA rules based upon the American Football Coaches Association and NCAA initiatives implemented to reduce the number of concussions.

Rule 9, Section 1, Article 4 of the NCAA Football Rules states: "No player shall target and initiate contact to the head or neck area of a defenseless opponent with the helmet, forearm, elbow or shoulder. When in question, it is a foul." A defenseless opponent includes a receiver whose attention is focused on receiving the ball. If the officials deem a foul flagrant, the offending player must be ejected.

Officials are required to make instantaneous decisions during high-speed game action. The officials ruled that there was question as to whether contact occurred to the head or neck area of Miami's #2 and that the action was against a defenseless player. When there is question as to the specific area of contact, in accordance with NCAA rules which requires officials to err on the side of player safety, Unsportsmanlike Conduct must be called.

Following the required video review by the Conference Office, it has been determined that the contact made by Florida State's Bradham was not to the head or neck of the receiving player nor was it flagrant. The play was a legal hit and no further action will be taken by the Conference Office.

Many have been calling for the firing of ACC Head Official Doug Rhoads. This might be a step by Rhoads to save face.

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Tomahawk Nation

You must be a member of Tomahawk Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Tomahawk Nation. You should read them.

Join Tomahawk Nation

You must be a member of Tomahawk Nation to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Tomahawk Nation. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.