clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Noles Dominate All-ACC Awards..

FSU gets seven on the All-ACC first team and wins three of the four major individual awards.

Tony Thomas is Player of the Year
Bryan Henry is Pitcher of the Year
Mike Martin is Coach of the Year.

Click on the jump for the full story.

Florida State, the top seed in this week's ACC Baseball Tournament, tied North Carolina with seven players selected as All-ACC honorees announced today by Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford. The Seminoles also garnered three of the four individual accolades as Tony Thomas, Jr. was named ACC Player of the Year, Bryan Henry was recognized as ACC Pitcher of the Year and head coach Mike Martin was honored as ACC Coach of the Year. The league postseason awards are selected by a vote of the league's 12 head coaches.

In becoming the first Florida State player to earn ACC Player of the Year honors since 2001 and the fourth overall, Thomas currently leads the league in seven statistical categories and is ranked in the top 10 in four others. The Valrico, Fla., product leads or is tied for the lead, in the ACC in hits (101), runs scored (82), doubles (30) triples (6), total bases (173), on base percentage (.537) and slugging percentage (.752). In addition, Thomas is second in batting average (.439), third in stolen bases (28) and ninth with 10 home runs. Thomas joins J.D. Drew (1997), Marshall McDougall (1999) and John-Ford Griffin (2001) as past Seminoles to be recognized as ACC Player of the Year.

Henry was named ACC Pitcher of the Year after finishing the regular season with a perfect 14-0 record and a 2.50 earned run average. The Tallahassee, Fla., senior recorded his 14 wins in only 16 starts this season and along with Thomas, was named as a semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy and the Golden Spikes Award. In addition to the NCAA-best 14 wins, including nine in ACC play, Henry leads the ACC in strikeouts (107), innings pitched (104.1) and is sixth in opponents' batting average (.232). Henry sits eighth all-time with 32 career wins at Florida State, while he becomes just the eighth pitcher all-time to record 14 or more wins in a single season.

Martin was voted by his peers as ACC Coach of the Year for the fifth time after leading the Seminoles to the Atlantic Division title and the No. 1 seed in this week's ACC Baseball Tournament. Florida State is 46-9 overall and, with its' 24-6 record in league play, tied the ACC single-season conference game win mark of 24 set by Clemson a year ago. The Seminoles have been ranked among the top three teams in the nation by three major polls since February 20, including a spot at No. 1 for six weeks (March 21-April 29). Martin was previously honored as the top coach in the league in 1996, 1998, 1999 and 2001.

With six first-team selections, Florida State joined the 1977 Clemson Tigers as the only other school in conference history to place six student-athletes on the first team. It also marks the most first-team selections in school history surpassing the previous record of four set three times in 1996, 1999 and 2000. Joining Thomas and Henry on this year's first-team are sophomore catcher Buster Posey, freshman third baseman Jason Stidham, junior shortstop Mark Hallberg and junior outfielder Jack Rye. Sophomore outfielder Mark Gildea earned a spot on the second team.

Florida State will open the ACC Baseball Tournament on Wednesday, May 23 at 7:00 pm against Wake Forest.

2007 All-ACC Team

Dustin Ackley, Fr., North Carolina, First Base
Andrew Carignan, Jr. North Carolina, Relief Pitcher
Sean Doolittle, Jr., Virginia, DH/Utility
Eric Erickson, Fr., Miami, Starting Pitcher
Brandon Guyer, Jr., Virginia, Outfield
Mark Hallberg, Jr., Florida State, Shortstop
Bryan Henry, Sr., Florida State, Starting Pitcher
Josh Horton, Jr., North Carolina, Shortstop
Danny Payne, Jr., Georgia Tech, Outfield
Buster Posey, So., Florida State, Catcher
Jack Rye, Jr., Florida State, Outfield
Marquez Smith, Sr., Clemson, Third Base
Jason Stidham, Fr., Florida State, Third Base
Tony Thomas, Jr., Jr., Florida State, Second Base
Jacob Thompson, So., Virginia, Starting Pitcher
Matt Wieters, Jr., Georgia Tech, Catcher

David Adams, So., Virginia, Second Base
Yonder Alonso, So., Miami, First Base
Tony Bajoczky, Sr., Duke, Starting Pitcher
Eric Campbell, So., Boston College, Third Base
Brad Chalk, Jr., Clemson, Outfield
Allan Dykstra, So., Wake Forest, First Base
Tim Fedroff, Fr., North Carolina, Outfield
Tim Federowicz, So., North Carolina, DH/Utility
Reid Fronk, Jr., North Carolina, Outfield
Mark Gildea, So., Florida State, Outfield
Taylor Harbin, Jr., Clemson, Shortstop
Casey Lambert, Sr., Virginia, Relief Pitcher
Caleb Mangum, Sr., NC State, Catcher
Daniel Moskos, Jr., Clemson, Starting Pitcher
Eric Surkamp, So., NC State, Starting Pitcher
Robert Woodard, Sr., North Carolina, Starting Pitcher

ACC Player of the Year -- Tony Thomas, Jr., Florida State
ACC Pitcher of the Year -- Bryan Henry, Florida State
ACC Freshman of the Year -- Dustin Ackley, North Carolina
ACC Coach of the Year -- Mike Martin, Florida State