clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Dwayne Bacon among 15 named to Naismith mid-season team

Jim Dedmon-USA TODAY Sports

The mid-season team for Naismith Trophy were named today. This narrowed down the high school national player of the year competition to 15 players, and FSU signee Dwayne Bacon was among the selections.

He joins Ben Simmons and Antonio Blakeney (LSU), Henry Ellenson (Marquette), Chase Jeter (Duke), and Allonzo Trier (Arizona) among signed prospects. The rest are unsigned prospects: Jaylen Brown, Cheick Diallo, Malik Newman, Ivan Rabb, Diamond Stone, Caleb Swanigan and Stephen Zimmerman.

Past winners of the award include Andrew Wiggins, Kevin Love, LeBron James, Kobe Bryant, and Alonzo Mourning.

The semi-finalists will be named in a week, on February 3rd.

More accolades could come in tomorrow, as the McDonald's All American team will be released. You can watch at 6pm on ESPNU. There is also a small chance that fellow FSU signee Malik Beasley could be named. If one makes it, they'll become the 11th Seminole in history to make the team. The most recent was Michael Snaer.