clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FSU basketball lands two on Naismith watch lists

Melina Vastola-USA TODAY Sports

Xavier Rathan-Mayes and freshman Dwayne Bacon have been named to the Naismith Hall of Fame watch lists. XRM is up for the Bob Cousy Award, given to the nation's top point guard. Bacon is short-listed for the Jerry West Award, given to the best shooting guard.

Only 20 players are named to each list.

Each award will be narrowed down to 10 in mid-February and five finalists will be selected in March. The award winners will be named April 8, 2016, at ESPN College Basketball Awards Show.

The ACC features three players on the Cousy List: XRM, Marcus Paige (UNC), and Demetrius Jackson (ND). The Jerry Award has four players: Bacon, Grayson Allen (Duke), Malcolm Brogdon (UVA), and Shelden McClellan (Miami).

Rathan-Mayes and Bacon were also both included on yesterday's list of top 100 college basketball players released by CBS Sports.