clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Honorary Peach Bowl captains named

A 'Nole legend will be back in the Georgia Dome on New Year's Eve.

Warrick Dunn
Warrick Dunn
Brett Davis-USA TODAY Sports

The Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl announced the honorary captains for both the Florida State Seminoles and Houston Cougars today, each of whom is a legend at his respective school.

The Seminoles' honorary captain will be Warrick Dunn, the all-time leading rusher at FSU, who will return to the Georgia Dome, the stadium in which he played his home games for six years while a member of the Atlanta Falcons. Dunn also starred for the Tampa Bay Buccaneers en route to an impressive 12-year NFL career. The Cougars will be represented by quarterback-turner-analyst Andre Ware, who won the 1989 Heisman Trophy and spent four years in the league.

The honorary captains will walk out to midfield with the playing captains for the pre-game coin toss. This Peach Bowl honor has been bestowed upon some other very big names in college football history, including FSU's Charlie Ward, Auburn's Bo Jackson, and TCU's LaDainian Tomlinson.