clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

All-ACC Coaches' Team and Awards include several FSU players

A number of 'Noles were honored-- with some notable omissions.

Jalen Ramsey
Jalen Ramsey
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The Atlantic Coast Conference coaches have spoken, and they've tipped their caps to several Seminoles in doing so.

A handful of Florida State standouts received the nod as first team All-ACC Coaches' team selections on Wednesday. Dalvin Cook and Rod Johnson made the first-team offense, Jalen Ramsey and Nile Lawrence-Stample are on the defensive first team, and Roberto Aguayo was named the first-team kicker.

Second-team honors were bestowed upon Kermit Whitfield (as a reciever-- he was named a third-team returner) and Reggie Northrup, while DeMarcus Walker was tapped for the third team. Travis Rudolph and Kareem Are earned Honorable Mentions.

All 14 ACC coaches vote on the teams and awards (the 'Noles were shut out for the latter), with no coach able to vote for his own players. Marquez White, Derrick Nnadi, Josh Sweat, Derwin James, Ro'Derrick Hoskins, Lamarcus Brutus and Cason Beatty certainly could have garnered consideration for the ALL-ACC teams, although James does show up in the award voting. The recipients of the All-ACC Coaches awards and their full All-ACC teams are included here:

2015 ACC Coaches' Award Winners and All-ACC Team 
(Total votes/points in parenthesis)

Coach of the Year

Dabo Swinney, Clemson (11)

Larry Fedora, North Carolina (3)

Player of the Year

Deshaun Watson, QB, So., Clemson (10)

Dalvin Cook, QB, So., Florida State (2)

Marquise Williams, QB, Sr., North Carolina (2)

Offensive Player of the Year

Deshaun Watson, QB, So., Clemson (11)

Marquise Williams, QB, Sr., North Carolina (2)

Dalvin Cook, RB, So., Florida State (1)

Defensive Player of the Year

Jeremy Cash, S, Sr.-R, Duke (6)

Shaq Lawson, DE, Jr.-R, Clemson (5)

Jalen Ramsey, CB, Jr., Florida State, (1)

Ejuan Price, DE, Sr.-R, Pitt (1)

Luther Maddy, DT, Sr.-R, Virginia Tech (1)

Rookie of the Year

Jordan Whitehead, S, Pitt (5) -Tie

Qadree Ollison, RB, Pitt (5) -Tie

Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson (2)

Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson (1)

Eric Dungey, QB, Syracuse (1)

Offensive Rookie of the Year

Qadree Ollison, RB, Pitt (8)

Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville (2)

Mitch Hyatt, T, Clemson (2)

Eric Dungey, QB, Syracuse (1)

Travon McMillian, RB, Virginia Tech (1)

Defensive Rookie of the Year

Jordan Whitehead, S, Pitt (9)

Christian Wilkins, DT, Clemson (3)

Derwin James, S, Florida State (1)

Brant Mitchell, LB, Georgia Tech (1)

First Team Offense

WR Tyler Boyd, Jr., Pitt (39)

WR Artavis Scott, So., Clemson (34)

WR Isaiah Ford, So., Virginia Tech (26)

TE Jordan Leggett, Jr., Clemson (22)

T Roderick Johnson, So., Florida State (33)

T Adam Bisnowaty, Jr.-R, Pitt (30)

G Landon Turner, Sr., North Carolina (36)

G Eric Mac Lain, Sr.-R, Clemson (30)

C Matt Skura, Sr.-R, Duke (35)

QB Deshaun Watson, So., Clemson (37)

RB Dalvin Cook, So., Florida State (38)

RB Wayne Gallman, So.-R, Clemson (30)

K Roberto Aguayo, Jr.-R, Florida State (32)

Sp. Ryan Switzer, Jr., North Carolina (29)

Second Team Offense

WR Stacey Coley, Jr., Miami (20)

WR Kermit Whitfield, Jr., Florida State (20)

WR Canaan Severin, Sr., Virginia (17)

TE(tie) Jaylen Samuels, So., NC State ( 15)

TE(tie) Bucky Hodges, So.-R, Virginia Tech (15)

T Jon Heck, Jr.-R, North Carolina (19)

T Joe Thuney, Sr.-R, NC State (19)

G Dorian Johnson, Jr., Pitt (19)

G Caleb Peterson, Jr.-R, North Carolina (17)

C Jay Guillermo, Jr.-R, Clemson (14)

QB Marquise Williams, Sr., North Carolina (23)

RB Elijah Hood, So., North Carolina (29)

RB Qadree Ollison, Fr.-R, Pitt (20)

K Ross Martin, Sr., Duke (14)

Sp. DeVon Edwards, Jr.-R, Duke (23)

Third Team Offense

WR Ryan Switzer, Jr., North Carolina (15)

WR Rashawn Scott, Sr.-R, Miami (13)

WR Mack Hollins, Jr.-R, North Carolina ( 13)

TE J.P. Holtz, Sr., Pitt (11)

T Joe Gore, Sr.-R, Clemson (14)

T Mitch Hyatt, Fr., Clemson (14)

G Ross Burbank, Sr.-R, Virginia (11)

G Tyrone Crowder, So.-R, Clemson (10)

C Lucas Crowley, Jr., North Carolina (13)

QB Brad Kaaya, So., Miami (13)

RB Taquan Mizzell, Jr., Virginia (14)

RB Joe Yearby, So., Miami (13)

K(tie) Greg Huegel, Fr.-R, Clemson (10)

K(tie) Michael Badgley, So., Miami (10)

K(tie) Nick Weiler, Jr., North Carolina (10)

Sp. Kermit Whitfield, Jr., Florida State (13)

Honorable Mention: Offense (7 or more points): 
QB--Jacoby Brissett, Sr.-R, NC State (8). RB--Matt Dayes, Jr., NC State (12); Travon McMillian, Fr.-R, Virginia Tech (7); WR--James Quick, Jr., Louisville (11); Travis Rudolph, So., Florida State (10); Quinshad Davis, Sr. ,North Carolina (10). TE--Cam Serigne, So.-R, Wake Forest (10). T-Danny Isadora, Jr., Miami (8); Lucas Patrick, Sr.-R, Duke (7); Kareem Are, Jr.-R, Florida State (7). C--Freddie Burden, Jr.-R, Georgia Tech (7). SP--Brisly Estime, Jr., Syracuse (12).

First Team Defense

DE Shaq Lawson, Jr.-R, Clemson (35)

DE Ejuan Price, Sr.-R, Pitt (25)

DT Connor Wujciak, Sr., Boston College (28)

DT Nile Lawrence-Stample, Sr.-R, Florida State (27)

LB Steven Daniels, Sr., Boston College ( 28)

LB Brandon Chubb, Sr.-R, Wake Forest (24)

LB Ben Boulware, Jr., Clemson (24)

CB Jalen Ramsey, Jr., Florida State (36)

CB Mackensie Alexander, So.-R, Clemson (29)

S Jeremy Cash, Sr.-R, Duke (36)

S Jayron Kearse, Jr., Clemson (28)

P Alex Kinal, Sr.-R, Wake Forest (19)

Second Team Defense

DE Mike Rose, Sr.-R, NC State (16)

DE Sheldon Rankins, Sr., Louisville (14)

DT Luther Maddy, Sr.-R, Virginia Tech (26)

DT Carlos Watkins, Jr.-R, Clemson (17)

LB Keith Kelsey, Jr., Louisville (20)

LB Micah Kiser, So.-R, Virginia (19)

LB(tie) Dwayne Norman, Sr., Duke (17)

LB(tie) Reggie Northrup, Sr., Florida State (17)

CB Artie Burns, Jr., Miami (26)

CB Des Lawrence, Jr., North Carolina (11)

S Quin Blanding, So., Virginia (21)

S Justin Simmons, Sr., Boston College ( 16)

P Riley Dixon, Sr., Syracuse (17)

Third Team Defense

DE Dadi Nicolas, Sr.-R, Virginia Tech (13)

DE DeMarcus Walker, Jr., Florida State (13)

DT Adam Gotsis, Sr., Georgia Tech (15)

DT Darryl Render, Sr., Pitt (13)

LB Matt Milano, Jr., Boston College (13)

LB James Burgess, Sr., Louisville (11)

LB(tie) Shakeel Rashad, Sr., North Carolina (9)

LB(tie) Nicholas Grigsby, Sr.-R, Pitt (9)

LB(tie) Jeff Schoettmer, Sr.-R, North Carolina (9)

LB(tie) B.J. Goodson, Sr.-R, Clemson (9)

CB Cordrea Tankersley, Jr., Clemson (10)

CB Trumaine Washington, So., Louisville (8)

S Jordan Whitehead, Fr., Pitt (11)

S (tie) Deon Bush, Sr., Miami (10)

S(tie) Josh Harvey-Clemons, Jr.-R, Louisville (10)

P Will Monday, Sr.-R, Duke (14)

Honorable Mention: Defense: (7 or more points)
DE--Mehdi Addesmad, Sr.-R, Boston College (8); Harold Landry, So., Boston College (8); DT--DeAngelo Brown, Jr., Louisville (9); David Dean, Sr.-R, Virginia (8); Corey Marshall, Sr.-R (7). LB--Trevon Young, Jr., Louisville (7); Devonte Fields, Jr., Louisville (7). CB--Shaq Wiggins, So.-R, Louisville (7); Brad Watson, Jr., Wake Forest (7); M.J. Stewart, So., North Carolina (7). S--DeVon Edwards, Jr.-R, Duke (8). P--Nicholas Conte, Jr.-R, Virginia (13); Justin Vogel, Jr., Miami (8).