clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Florida State Breaks Three-Year NFL Draft Record

New, comments

With 11 players selected in the 2015 NFL Draft, Florida State has set a new record for draft selections over a three-year period with 29 total from 2013-2015.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

As expected, former Florida State quarterback Jameis Winston was the first player selected in the 2015 NFL Draft, and 10 more Seminoles eventually joined him as FSU set a three-year draft record with 29 players selected from 2013 to 2015. The previous record was shared by Miami (2002-2004) and USC (2008-2010), who each saw 28 players drafted over three-year periods previously.

After Winston kicked things off on Thursday night by being selected No. 1 overall by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, more Seminoles quickly joined Winston as early round selections. Center Cam Erving made it two first-round picks for FSU when he was selected at No. 19 overall by the Cleveland Browns.

Defensive tackle Eddie Goldman, defensive end Mario Edwards Jr., and cornerback Ronald Darby all heard their names called in the second round, making five out of the first 50 picks FSU products. Goldman headed to Chicago with the No. 39 overall pick. Edwards Jr. landed in Oakland in an emerging defensive group, while Darby was Buffalo's first selection in the draft at No. 50 overall.

Corner P.J. Williams joined Who Dat Nation in New Orleans as the talented corner was selected in the third round by the Saints, who gave him a lot of individual attention at Florida State's pro day.

Tre' Jackson went in the fourth round to New England at pick No. 111, while Rashad Greene and Karlos Williams were selected by Jacksonville and Buffalo, respectively, in the 5th round. Williams will team with Darby and former FSU quarterback E.J. Manuel for newly minted head coach Rex Ryan.

Tight End Nick O'Leary, drafted in the 6th round, also joins Darby and Williams as another 'Nole that Rex Ryan can utilize. Breaking the record for the 'Noles was guard Bobby Hart, who was selected by the New York Giants in the seventh round with the 226th pick.