clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida State president John Thrasher named to college football playoff board

Note: this is not the CFB playoff committee. What follows is a release from Florida State athletics.

Mark Wallheiser/Getty Images

Tallahassee, Fla. -- Florida State University President John Thrasher has been appointed to the College Football Playoff Board of Managers.

Thrasher joins 10 other university presidents or chancellors on the board effective immediately.

"President Thrasher's nomination and ultimate appointment to the oversight Board of the College Football Playoff speaks to the national stature of our University and football program," said FSU Athletic Director Stan Wilcox.  "He was in Pasadena for the inaugural CFP semi-finals and as a result understands the operation of the event.  That experience will serve him well as he assumes this prestigious appointment."      

The CFP Board serves as the governing board of the CFP Administration, LLC. The company manages the administrative operations of the College Football Playoff. Members of the company hail from the 10 Football Bowl Subdivision conferences (American Athletic, Atlantic Coast, Big Ten, Big 12, Conference USA, Mid-American, Mountain West, Pac-12, Southeastern and Sun Belt) and the University of Notre Dame.

The company's business, property and affairs are governed by the board. The board develops, reviews and approves annual budgets, policies and operating guidelines. It also appoints and removes officers of the company. It has authority over all aspects of the company's operations.

"President Thrasher will be an excellent addition to the College Football Playoff Board of Managers," said ACC Commissioner John Swofford.  "With Florida State's participation in the College Football Playoff, he has gained firsthand knowledge of the CFP experience. His leadership will fit in well on the board and I am pleased he will represent the ACC."

Florida State won the 2013 National Championship in the last year of the BCS format.  FSU was one of four teams that played in the inaugural College Football Playoff in 2014 losing to Oregon in the Rose Bowl.