clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tarvarus McFadden Named 2016 Jack Tatum Award winner

The sophomore defensive back leads the nation in interceptions

NCAA Football: Mississippi at Florida State Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

COLUMBUS, Ohio – First Team All-ACC cornerback Tarvarus McFadden is the 2016 Jack Tatum Award winner as the nation’s top defensive back, the Touchdown Club of Columbus announced Friday morning. McFadden’s eight interceptions are tied for the national lead and are the most for any Seminole since Terrell Buckley, the 1991 Tatum Award winner, had a school-record 12.

McFadden, from Ft. Lauderdale, Fla., wins the award named for the late Ohio State legend. Past winners include Charles Woodson of Michigan, Miami’s Sean Taylor, and Tennessee’s Eric Berry.

McFadden started all 12 games for the Noles this season, tallying interceptions against a who’s-who of collegiate quarterbacks. In the season opener, his interception of Ole Miss quarterback Chad Kelly sealed the FSU victory. He went on to record interceptions against Heisman Trophy candidate Lamar Jackson of Louisville, American Athletic Conference Player of the Year Quinton Flowers of USF, Miami’s Brad Kaaya and 2015 Heisman Trophy Finalist Deshaun Watson of Clemson.

McFadden’s eight interceptions are tied with the late Monk Bonasorte (1979) and Curt Campbell (1951) for the second-most in Florida State single-season history, trailing Buckley’s 1991 total.

The Jack Tatum Award will be presented during the 62nd Touchdown Club of Columbus Awards on February 4, 2017.

The preceding was a release from the Florida State University.