clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Florida State Men's Basketball postseason banquet award winners

FSU Men's Basketball gave out their yearly awards following their 2015-2016 season.

Glenn Beil-USA TODAY Sports

On Sunday, FSU Men's basketball held their end of the year banquet, and handed out awards to the players that they have earned over this past season.

Senior Devon Bookert led all players with five awards. He walked away with trophies for the sixth man award, best 3-point field goal percentage, the Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player award, Tip of the Spear and career 1,000 point scorer. According to, The Tip of the Spear award, "Is presented annually to the member of the men's basketball team who exemplifies the unconquered spirit and who gives unselfishly of himself throughout the season."

Freshman Dwayne Bacon, who will return to FSU next year, earned four trophies this past season. They include the First Year Academic Achievement Award, Outstanding Student Athlete, Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards award and Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award.

The graduating big men, Boris Bojanovsky and Montay Brandon were given a trophy each. Bojo was given the Career Shot Block Award and Brandon received an award for playing the most games in FSU Men's Basketball history.

Junior Brandon Allen and sophomore Phil Cofer were given awards for their work in the classroom this past year. Allen was given the Academic Achievement Award while Cofer got Most Improved Student Athlete.

Freshman Terrance Mann was given two awards following his first year on the team. He was named "Mr. Hustle," and had the best field goal percentage on the team.

Sophomore Xavier Rathan-Mayes received the Otto Petty Most Assists award and freshman Malik Beasley, who will enter the 2016 NBA Draft, had the best free throw percentage. The Unsung Hero award was assigned to junior Jarquez Smith