clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

84 days to FSU football: A trio of tight ends carry on the legacy of No. 84

A look at the top No. 84s in FSU history.

Florida State Program

As we continue to count down the number of days until Florida State football play its first game, we have reached the No. 84, worn by three tight ends in particular.

From 1969-1972, the No. 84 jersey belonged to Gary Parris, a first team All-South Independent first team member in his final season. The Eagle Scout was drafted in the 15th round of the 1973 draft to the San Diego Chargers, where he would begin his eight year NFL career.

A couple of years down the road in 1981, tight end Sam Childers would be named to the All-South Independent second team while wearing that number. Childers would represent No. 84 from 1979-1981 and is still very active in the Florida State football community. He has exception knowledge on FSU to the point where he helps fans understand the situation of the current FSU football teams.

Following the trend of decades, the last No. 84 to be named to a postseason team was tight end Myron Jackson in 1998 when he was part of the All-ACC Second Team. He wore the number all fives years he was on campus from 1994-1998, starting his career a year after the 'Noles won it all in 1993 and graduating one season prior to the second National Championship in school history.

Here is a list of some other 'Noles to carry the No. 84 with them throughout their time at FSU:

  • Clare "Bud" Bagnell (1956-1957)
  • Bill Kimber (1956-1958)
  • George Ehlers (1959-1960)
  • Hank Sytsma (1961-1962)
  • George D' Allessandro (1963-1965)
  • Chip Glass (1966-1968)
  • Mike Glass (1969)
  • Randy Coffield (1972-1973)
  • Rudolph Thomas (1975)
  • Greg Lazzaro (1976-1977)
  • Garth Jax (1982-1985)
  • Bruce LaSane (1986)
  • Johnny Clower (1987)
  • Bruce Gooch (1988)
  • Warren Hart (1989-1991)
  • Ernie Green (1993)
  • Robert Morris (1993)
  • Gennaro Jackson (1999-2000)
  • Justin Tomberlin (2001)
  • Travis Smith (2002)
  • Robert Hallback (2004-2006)
  • Chase Walker (2007)
  • Rodney Smith (2009-2012)
  • Isaiah Jones (2013)

Who do you think was the greatest No. 84?