clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

78 days to FSU football: The top players to wear No. 78

The countdown to opening day continues with the greatest 'Nole to wear No. 78.

Wilson Bell
Wilson Bell
Greg Nelson - Getty Images

With 78 days left until opening kickoff against Ole Miss, we take a look back at the greatest Seminoles to wear No. 78.

On the offensive line, Nat Henderson wore No. 78 in his final three years on campus from 1976 to 1978 after transitioning from playing defensive tackle, where he lined up in 1974 and 1975. He was named an honorable mention to the All-American team in in 1978 by the Associated Press and was a part of the First Team All-South Independent. Following his five year tenure at Florida State, the offensive tackle was selected in the 11th round of the 1979 NFL draft by the St. Louis Cardinals -- yes, they were a football team who moved to Arizona in 1987, that we now all know as the Arizona Cardinals.

Flipping over to the defensive line, Eric Hayes donned the No. 78 jersey from 1986-1989 while playing defensive tackle. Hayes was an honorable mention to an All-American team twice in his career, earning the title following 1987 by the Associated Press and after 1989 by The Sporting News. Football News had Hayes as a member of their Third Team All-America in 1989. The subsequent year from his final one at FSU, the five year vet was drafted in the fifth round of the 1990 NFL Draft by the Seattle Seahawks, where he would begin his four year NFL career.

Here are some of the other alum to represent No. 78 during their time at FSU:

  • John Craig (1955-1968, 1958)
  • Lou Wallace (1957)
  • Joe Verbinski (1959-1961)
  • Max Andrews (1963)
  • Charles Pennie (1964-1966)
  • Wayne Johnson (1967-1969)
  • Greg Johnson (1972-1975)
  • Mike Coleman (1980)
  • Terry Widner (1981-1983)
  • Brent Reedy (1984)
  • Kenneth Carr (1985)
  • Willie Tilton (1985)
  • Johnny Clower (1990-1991)
  • Marcus Long (1993-1996)
  • Donald Heaven (1996-2000)
  • Ron Lunford (2001-2002)
  • Mat Hardrick (2006)
  • Ben Gatewood (2010)
  • Shayne Broxie (2010-2011)
  • Mike Pulawski (2012)
  • Wilson Bell (2013-current)

Don't forget to cast your vote!