clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

75 days to FSU football: Linemen dominate the No. 75

With 75 days left until opening day, we take a look at the greatest 'Noles to wear the No. 75 jersey.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Tuesday marks 75 days left until Florida State takes on Ole Miss to begin the 2016 season, making the No. 75 jersey the featured number.

The earliest No. 75 'Nole to be named to a postseason team was offensive lineman Herbert Harp in 1983 when he was named an honorable mention on the All-America team by Football News in 1983, following his senior year. Harp was on campus for a total of five years and wore the No. 75 jersey for his final two in 1982 and 1983.

In 2000, offensive tackle Char-on Dorsey was named to the first team All-ACC following a year that didn't have him listed atop the depth chart on day one. For his final three years on campus, the Jacksonville native wore No. 75 from 1998-2000 before graduating. Dorsey would continue to play football after being selected in the seventh round of the 2001 NFL draft by the Dallas Cowboys where the lineman would begin his two season NFL career, playing for the Houston Texans in the latter year.

Recently, Cam Erving wore No. 75 from 2012 to 2014 while racking up the post season accolades along the way. In 2013, the offensive lineman was named a Second Team All-American by SB Nation and the AP while the USA Today, Sporting News and ACC coaches had Erving pinned on their First Team All-American list. Following his senior year in 2014, CBS Sports had Erving down as a member of its First Team All-America along with the ACC coaches and media at left tackle. Erving made All-ACC teams at two different positions, getting named to the ACC second-team as a center by the media and ACC third-team by coaches. The 19th overall pick in the 2015 NFL draft was selected by the Cleveland Browns, where he remains today.

Although not named to post season teams, there were plenty of No. 75's who were picked in the NFL Draft following their tenure in Tallahassee. Center Don Donatelli (1959-1961) was the earliest No. 75 drafted when he was selected in the 18th round of the 1962 NFL Draft. Guard Billy Rhodes (1966-1968) followed in 1969, selected in the fourth round with defensive tackle Richard Amman (1969-1971), the subsequent No. 75, chosen in the 10th round of the 1972 Draft. Years down the road in 2007, tackle Mario Henderson (2003-2006) was a third round selection.

Some other 'Noles to wear No. 75:

  • Bob Barber (1955)
  • Bill Booth (1956)
  • Jerry Lane (1957)
  • Dan Strickland (1958)
  • Dale MacKenzie (1962-1964)
  • Rommy Vistart (1965)
  • Doug Dane (1972-1976)
  • Tom Brannon (1977-1981)
  • Ed Harden (1984)
  • Tim Hebron (1985-1986)
  • Joe Ostaszewski (1987-1991)
  • Enzo Amella (1991-1994)
  • Billy Rhodes III (1995-1997)
  • Will Furlong (2007-2008)
  • Phillip Dumar (2010-2011)
  • Abdul Bello (2015-present)

Don't forget to vote for who you think was the greatest 'Nole to wear No. 75