clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

73 days to FSU football: Multiple Seminoles have a case to be the greatest No. 73

It's an open race to be the best No. 73 in Florida State history.

Al Messerschmidt/Getty Images

73 days remain before Florida State’s 2016 season opener against Ole Miss in Orlando’s Camping World Stadium. As such, let’s continue our countdown of the best Seminoles to wear each number with a glance at the best ‘Noles to wear No. 73.

Only one player wearing No. 73 has earned recognition during his time at Florida State. Barry Voltapetti, an offensive tackle at Florida State early in Bobby Bowden’s tenure from 1977 to 1981, donned the No. 73 for his final two seasons as a ‘Nole including his senior season which led to him being named an honorable mention for the Associated Press All-American team as well as a first-team All-South Independents honoree. However, in spite of Voltapetti’s successful senior season, he was not taken in the 1982 NFL Draft. While Voltapetti went undrafted after his collegiate career, two other 73s were taken in their respective drafts despite not earning an individual award during their time in Tallahassee.

The first No. 73 at Florida State who was selected in the NFL Draft was offensive lineman Larry Kissam, who was taken in the 17th round of the 1967 NFL Draft by the Miami Dolphins after a two-year career at FSU. The second and most recent No. 73 to be drafted out of Florida State was linebacker Randy Coffield, selected in the 10th round of the 1976 NFL Draft by the Seattle Seahawks after spending his final two years at FSU in the No. 73 jersey.

The other Seminoles to have worn the garnet and gold No. 73 are:

  • Bill Musselman (1956-1957)
  • Bill Brown (1958)
  • Steve Klesius (1959-1961)
  • George Strouse (1961)
  • Avery Sumner (1962-1964)
  • Duke Johnston (1967-1969)
  • Dan Daniels (1970-1971)
  • Paul Oglesby (1972)
  • Dan Corcoran (1973)
  • Mike Good (1976)
  • Jim Thompson (1982-1984)
  • Anthony Williams (1985-1986)
  • Anthony Johnson (1987)
  • Reggie Dixon (1988-1991)
  • Greg Frey (1991-1995)
  • Clay Ingram (1997-1999)
  • Bobby Meeks (2000-2004)
  • Shannon Boatman (2006-2007)
  • Rhonne Sanderson (2009-2010)
  • Neil Goldsmith (2010)
  • Jacob Schmidt (2012)
  • Joseph Hernandez (2013-2014)
  • Caleb Holley (2015-2016)