clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

69 days to FSU football: Offensive linemen reign the No. 69 uniform

With 69 days left until Florida State Seminoles Football, we take a look at the greatest 'Noles to wear the No. 69 jersey.

Florida State

With only 69 days left until Florida State takes the field against 'Ole Miss to begin the 2016 season, we spotlight the very nice No. 69 jersey in Florida State history.

Guard Mike Good, who wore No. 69 from 1976-1979, was a two time AP All-American honorable mention following the 1978 and 1979 seasons. Post those two seasons, Good was also named to the first team All-South Independent for his play during the seasons.

Tom McCormick, a center who donned No. 69 from 1981-1983, was always in the postseason All-American discussion. In each of his three seasons at Florida State, the AP named McCormick as an All-American honorable mention with Football News joining in after 1983, bestowing that honor to the Panama City, FL native. In 1981 and 1982, McCormick was named to the first team All-South Independent.

In 1988, tackle Joey Ionata was an All-American honorable mention according to the AP. The five-year Florida State student athlete wore No. 69 throughout his time in Tallahassee from 1984-1988. He was named to the second team All-South Independents in 1988.

Arguably the greatest guard in Florida State history, Pat McNeil, took the field with No. 69 on his back from 1990-1994. In 1991 and 1992, McNeil was named to the first team Freshman and Sophomore All-American teams with a spot on the third team All-American following his junior year in 1993. In 1994, he was an All-American honorable mention by the United Press. During his time at FSU, the 'Noles went a perfect 5-0 in postseason bowl games which included the Seminoles' first ever national championship in 1994.

Here are some other former 'Nole wore No. 69:

  • Ted Rodrique (1955)
  • George Canning (1958)
  • Jessie Lane (1959)
  • Jim Wade (1961-1962)
  • Steve Watson (1963)
  • Ed Pope (1964-1966)
  • Tom White (1968-1969)
  • Bobby Anderson (1970-1971)
  • Rudolph Maloy (1972)
  • Bruce Harrison (1973-1975)
  • Darryl Kershaw (1980)
  • Marty Riggs (1984)
  • Tyrone Barber (1989)
  • Gideon Brown (1995)
  • W.D. Rodeffer (1999)
  • Mike Shaw (2001-2002)
  • Chris Revell (2010-2011)
  • Garrett Scott (2013)
  • Barrett Kernon (2015)

Don't forget to vote for who you think is the top No. 69 in Florida State history.