clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

68 days to FSU football: The best No. 68s in 'Nole history

68 days left until Florida State takes on 'Ole Miss to begin the 2016 season.

Getty Images - Scott Halleran

Another day, another number marked off the countdown. With 68 days left until the big game against 'Ole Miss, we highlight the greatest No. 68's in Florida State history.

In 1989, center Michael Tanks was named to a plethora of postseason teams. The AP and Football Writers Association named Tanks to its first team All-America while the United Press had the two year starter as a member of its second team All-America with The Sporting News giving him an All-American honorable mention. Tanks was also named to the first team All-South Independent following 1989, his fourth year wearing the No. 68 uniform.

Jason Whitaker, FSU guard who wore No. 68 from 1995-1999, had his share of postseason accolades. In 1998, he was a member of the firs team All-America according to the Football Writers Association with the AP giving him third team honors. The 1999 national championship season is where the NCAA Consensus All-American racked up the awards, with the All-America Foundation, AP, American Football Coaches Association, Football News and Football Writers Association all naming Whitaker as a first team All-American member. He was named to the first team All-ACC in 1998 and 1999 with a spot on the second team in 1997.

Here are some other No. 68's in Florida State history:

  • Sid Ingram (1956)
  • Stu Keith (1958)
  • Abner Bigbie (1957, 1959-1960)
  • Don Green (1961)
  • Bill Daly (1961)
  • Chester Womack (1962)
  • Joe Parrish (1963-1965)
  • Larry Pendleton (1966-1968)
  • Dan Roatche (1969)
  • Steve Beville (1969)
  • Garis Shaw (1972)
  • Alan Risk (1973-1974)
  • Abe Smith (1977)
  • Jeff Field (1978-1980)
  • Lenny Chavers (1981-1985)
  • John Flath (1990-1992)
  • Gideon Brown (1993-1994)
  • Blake Williams (2001-2002)
  • Jacky Claude (2005-2007)
  • John Jones (2010)

Don't forget to vote!!