clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

93 days until FSU football: Top players to don the No. 93 jersey

A look at the athletes who represented the number 93 at Florida State.

Orlando Sentinel

The countdown continues to opening day with 93 days remaining, which means we will focus in on the greatest former 'Noles to sport the #93 jersey in FSU Football history.

The first and only All-Independent choice to wear No. 93 at Florida State happened to be linebacker Shelton Thompson. He wore 93 on the back of his jersey from 1986-1989 while being named to the All-South Independent Second Team in 1989.

Chris Cowart wore the number for five seasons starting in 1990 all the way up to 1994 while playing both linebacker and defensive end in Tallahassee. He earned a spot on the All-ACC third team in 1993, Florida State's first national championship season, leading the team with 7 1/2 sacks. Cowart had trouble with injuries at FSU, ultimately seeing his career end after tearing an ACL during a church related pick up game, and was denied a sixth year of eligibility.

Closer to the line of scrimmage, a pair of drafted lineman wore No. 93 during their time in Tallahassee. Everett Dawkins, just as Cowart did, modeled the number for five seasons from 2008-2012. The South Carolina native earned an All-ACC honorable mention in 2011 and was named to the All-ACC second team in 2012. He was drafted in the seventh round of the 2013 NFL Draft before shifting around between the NFL, Arena Football and Fall Experimental Football Leagues.

One of the most recognizable name on this list is current NFL defensive lineman Letroy Guion who currently plays for the Green Bay Packers. The fifth round pick in 2008 dressed in the No. 93 at FSU from 2005-2007, and was the only true freshman to earn a starting job on defense in 2005.

Here's a rundown of the other 'Noles to wear No. 93 during their tenure at Florida State:

- David Ellis (1979)

- Rick Houston (1980)

- Jim Hendley (1982, 1984)

- Eric Hayes (1985)

- Chris Codling (1993)

- Chris Walker (1995-1999)

- Eric Powell (2000-2002)

- Brad Bentz (2013)

- Demarcus Christmas (2014)

Who do you think was the greatest to wear No. 93?