clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

54 days to FSU football: The deep history of No. 54

With 54 days left until Florida State takes the field, we take a look at the No. 54 uniform in FSU history.

Gary A. Vasquez-USA TODAY Sports

As the countdown ticks down another day, there are just 54 days remaining until Florida State takes on Ole Miss in Orlando to begin the 2016 season.

To start looking at the deep history of the No. 54 uniform, we have to go all the way back to the 1940's. Tackle Hugh Adams was the first 'Nole to wear No. 54 when he did in 1948 and 1949, winning AP Little All-American both years and Paul B. Williams Little All-American in 1948. It marked the first time ever that a Seminole had been given national recognition. The Captain of the 1949 team, Adams played on successful Seminoles teams, with the 'Noles going 16-2 over those two years. Following his playing years, the Atlanta native remained on the field, serving as a Florida State assistant coach.

In 1982, linebacker Tommy Young was an All-American Honorable Mention and a member of the Second Team All-South Independent. He wore the No. 54 in 1981 and 1982, after switching from playing running back his first three years in Tallahassee, committing a total of five years to the program.

The only National Champion to receive national honors while wearing the No. 54 was guard Tre Jackson in 2013. He was named to the Sports Illustrated All-American honorable mention list and CBS Sports Second Team following 2013, before earning First Team All-American honors by the AP, CBS Sports, Walter Camp and NCAA in 2014. Additionally, Jackson was named to the First Team All-ACC in 2013 and 2014 after being a member of the second team in 2012. The four-year 'Nole was drafted by the New England Patriots in the fourth round of the 2014 NFL Drat.

Here are some other names that wore the No. 54 jersey during their time at FSU:

  • Al Pacifico (1954)
  • Lester Little (1955)
  • George Boyer (1956)
  • Jack Hardy (1958-1960)
  • Joe Rodgers (1961)
  • Bill Tuten (1961)
  • Joe Avvezzano (1962)
  • Joe MacMatthews (1963)
  • John Stephens (1964-1966)
  • Ron Montford (1967)
  • Bobby Burt (1968-1969)
  • Mike Glass (1969)
  • Jim Dundala (1970-1971)
  • John Thames (1972)
  • Garis Shaw (1973, 1976)
  • Arthur Scott (1978-1980)
  • Orlando Miles (1983-1984)
  • Mike Hittinger (1984)
  • Shelton Thomas (1985)
  • Jason Simmons (1986)
  • Bryan Law (1986)
  • Wes Harris (1987)
  • Phil Ferrell (1989)
  • Scott Player (1990-1991)
  • Kevin Adams (1991-1992)
  • Greg Spires (1993-1994)
  • Rick Anteau (1993)
  • Jarad Moon (1996-2000)
  • Olayemi Okegbola (1997)
  • Milford Brown (2001-2002)
  • A.J. Nicholson (2004-2005)
  • Paul Griffin (2007-2008)
  • A.J. Land (2010)
  • Dorian Early (2013)
  • Alec Eberle (2015-Present)

Don't forget to vote for your favorite below!