clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49 days to FSU football: Some interesting firsts from an FSU No. 49

More than a half century separate two nominees.

Florida State v Boston College Photo by Elsa/Getty Images

Yes, believe it or not, we’re now under 50 days until Florida State opens up its 2016 football schedule against Ole Miss. That brings us to the beginning of another number group in our countdown to Labor Day night— and a rather abbreviated list of accolades have been captured by ‘Noles leading off the 40s at No. 49. But they still find themselves in the record — and history — books.

Fullbacks are used to lead blocking, and so it’s fitting that FB Dayne Williams leads us off today, as he earned a 1988 Honorable Mention All-American nod from The Sporting News. And a ‘Nole 49 from the other side of the ball, end Brandon Jenkins, is top-ten in several defensive categories. His 2010 season was one of the best any defender’s enjoyed in the garnet and gold, as his 13.5 sacks and 21.5 tackles for loss are still each tied for third in FSU history. Jenkins secured 2010 All-American second-team honors from and, a fourth-team spot from Phil Steele, and an Honorable Mention per He was a first-team All-ACC selection.

But Jenkins was more than a one-year performer. He was a second-team All-ACC player in 2011 and finished ninth in ‘Nole history with 22.5 sacks and seventh all-time with 37.5 TFL. He was a fifth-round 2013 NFL Draft pick by Washington.

But before Williams or Jenkins, there was Charles McMillan— they very first Seminole No. 49. In fact, McMillan claimed several Seminole firsts. He was on the first football squad, in 1947. He scored the first touchdown in ‘Nole history, and before serving for 20 years as an Air Force combat pilot, he was FSU’s first Student Body President. A big thanks to McMillan’s son, who reached out to me with that information.

The other Seminoles to wear No. 49:

  • Dan McClure (1948)
  • Harry Bringger (1949)
  • Leon Bryant (1954)
  • Terry Eagerton (1967-1968)
  • Guy Gilsson (1969-1971)
  • Bruce Bell (1972)
  • Brooks Burroughs (1973-1974)
  • Ernie Washington (1976)
  • David Hanks (1977)
  • Ken Burnett (1979)
  • Herbert Butler (1980)
  • Tony Smith (1981-1982, 1985)
  • David Palmer (1984)
  • Dayne Almer (1986)
  • Jason Peirce (1989-1992)
  • Eric Black (1993)
  • David Walker (1993)
  • John McCorvey (1994)
  • James D’Amico (1995)
  • Bobby Rhodes (1996-1999)
  • Brett Cimorelli (2000-2002)
  • Brandon Myers (2002)
  • Chad Canfield (2003)
  • Joe Surratt (2004)
  • Benjamin Lampkin (2006-2008)
  • Anthony Kelly (2007)
  • Donald Chenault (2012)
  • Jake Romano (2013)
  • Colton Woodall (2013)
  • Cedric Wood (present)

Time to vote: