clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

46 days to FSU football: Light company among FSU’s best No. 46s

Chime in with your vote for the best No. 46.

Fed Ex Orange Bowl: Penn State v Florida State Photo by Scott Halleran/Getty Images

Only 46 days remain until FSU takes the field to start its 2016 campaign against Ole Miss in a neutral-site game in Orlando. As such, here’s a look at the best players to wear No. 46 in Florida State history.

Today’s entry in the countdown will prove to be a brief one for no reason other than a total lack of viable options to be considered Florida State’s greatest No. 46.

The list is so brief, in fact, that Lee Nelson, who played wore No. 46 and played defensive back for FSU from 1973 to 1975, is the only Seminole to ever receive any sort of honor while wearing the 46. Nelson’s honor was an honorable mention for the All-South Independents team after his final year with the team, 1975. After his time at Florida State was over, Nelson was a 15th round selection in the 1976 NFL Draft by the St. Louis Cardinals.

Although he never received any honors while sporting it, Burt "Buddy" Reynolds donned the No. 46 for his freshman season at FSU in 1954 before shifting to a new number ahead of his sophomore season. Reynolds may not have found overwhelming success on the gridiron, largely due to a number of injuries he suffered during his time at Florida State, but his illustrious film career makes him one of the most famous FSU alumni.

The other Seminoles to wear No. 46 are:

  • Johnny Thombleson (1948)
  • Frank Marcus (1949)
  • Arthur Munroe (1968)
  • Brian Bengtson (1969, 1971)
  • Detroit Reynolds (1972)
  • Ivory Joe Hunter (1976-1979)
  • Mark Rodrigue (1980-1981)
  • Stuart Wyatt (1982-1984)
  • Felton Hayes (1985-1988)
  • Ray Bell (1989)
  • Phillip King (1990)
  • Derrick Clark (1991)
  • Travis Sherman (1992-1995)
  • Tommy Polley (1996)
  • Michael Hamilton (1998-1999)
  • Gennaro Jackson (2001)
  • Nate Hardage (2002-2003)
  • Anthony Houlis (2005-2007)
  • Vince Williams (2008)
  • Vincent Zann (2009-2010)
  • Jonathan Johnson (2010-2012)
  • Paul Aloise (2013)
  • Javon Young (2013-2014)