clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

42 days to FSU football: Which hall of fame member was the greatest No. 42?

With 42 days left until Florida State football begins its 2016 season, the No. 42 jersey is highlighted.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

The countdown has hit 42 days until Florida State takes the field once again, which means its time to take a look back at the No. 42 in Florida State history.

The second Seminole to ever wear No. 42 was Nelson Italiano from 1950 to 1952. Following a great 1951 campaign, the Tampa native was named an honorable mention to the AP Little All-American team. Aside from his main duties at running back, Italiano also spent time on special teams in 1950 serving as Florida State's punter.

Monk Bonasorte, defensive back who donned No. 42 from 1977-1980, is a member of the Florida State football Hall of Fame. The 1995 inductee was an AP Third Team All-American in 1979 and AP All-American Honorable Mention in 1980 with Football News naming Bonasorte to its Second Team All-America following that 1980 season. He is still heavily involved with Florida State athletics, currently serving as Senior Associate Director of Athletics for the school.

The only player to get drafted while wearing No. 42 at Florida State was running back Amp Lee. He was recently elected the Florida State football Hall of Fame in 2014. He had No. 42 on the back of his uniform from 1989-1991 while breaking out during his final season. Walter Camp named Lee a 1991 First Team All-American with Football News giving him Third Team honors and Sports Illustrated giving an honorable mention. In the 1992 NFL Draft, the Chipely, Florida native was drafted in the second round by the San Fransisco 49ers where he would begin a 9 year NFL career.

Recent graduate Lamarcus Brutus who wore No. 42 from 2011-2015 was an All-ACC Honorable Mention as voted by the media. In the 1986 NFL draft, after representing No. 42 at Florida State from 1982-1985, Cletis Jones was drafted in the 10th round by the New England Patriots.

Here are some other names to wear No. 42:

Walter Foy (1948-1949)

John Griner (1955)

Frank Scheible (1956)

Pappy Rozman (1958)

Paul Andrews (1959-1961)

Ralph Norman (1962)

Les Murdock (1963-1964)

Alan LaMarche (1965)

Bil Cheshire (1967-1968)

Ron Ratliff (1969-1971)

Joe Camps (1972-1976)

Quinton Reed (1981)

Reno Fells (1986)

Felton Cook (1987)

John Merna (1988)

Mike Gibson (1992)

Jermaine Green (1993-1995)

Kwaesi Palmer (1996-1997)

Jerel Hudson (1998-2002)

Ben Waldrop (1998)

Anthony Bredwood (2003)

Kenny Ingram (2005)

Seddrick Holloway (2007-2008)

Shayne Broxsie (2013)

Rocky Bonasorte (2016)

Don't forget to vote below!