clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

64 days to FSU football: Consensus All-American leads ‘Noles to wear No. 64

A stellar Seminole career highlights the rundown.

Orange Bowl: Miami v Florida State Photo by Jamie Squire/Getty Images

Yet another consensus All-American leads the conversation about the best ‘Nole football players ever to wear the No. 64. Guard Jamie Dukes sported the 64 from 1982-1985, the entirety of his fantastic Seminole career in which he started all 48 games as a ‘Nole. Only three other FSU offensive linemen have started every game as a freshman.

Dukes’ first-team All-South Independent selections in ‘83, ‘84, and ‘85, are impressive enough— but it’s truly staggering to consider that he earned All-American honors every year at Florida State. In 1982, Dukes was a Football News Freshman All-American. A year later, the Football News gave him an All-American Honorable Mention, while moving him up to their second-team in ‘84, the same season for which he drew an Honorable Mention from the AP. Dukes punctuated his time in Tallahassee by securing consensus All-American honors in his senior season of 1985, and in 1991, he was inducted into the FSU Football Hall of Fame.

Dukes is the only Florida State No. 64 to take home All-American nods of any kind, actually, although a number of 64s, mostly OGs, have secured all-conference-level accolades, beginning back in the 1970s. Jeff Gardner got things going in 1974 with an All-South Independent Honorable Mention, which he followed up in 1975 with first-team honors.

In 1981, defensive end Jarvis Coursey nabbed a first-team ASI nod, and in 2000, a year after helping FSU to its second national title, guard Justin Amman grabbed first-team honors as well, the same season he made the ACC All-Academic team, a feat also accomplished by Matt Meinrod in 2003, when he was an All-South Independent Honorable Mention.

The other FSU 64s:

  • Ray Staab (1954)
  • Bob Thomas (1955)
  • Bud Leonard (1956)
  • Bob Fountain (1957)
  • Ray Lamb (1958-1960)
  • Bruce Darsey (1961-1962)
  • David Pitts (1963)
  • David Braggins (1964-1966)
  • Stan Walker (1967-1969)
  • Charley Musser (1969-1970)
  • Keith Tuten (1976)
  • Magdi El Shahawy (1986-1988)
  • Robert Williams (1989-1990)
  • Jeff Deremer (1991)
  • Kendrick Scott (1991)
  • Ed Galloway (1992)
  • Tim Johnson (1994-1995)
  • Dax Dellenbach (2010-2012)
  • Brian Patterson (2013)

Voting time, folks: