clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

60 days to FSU football: Which Florida State No. 60 tops your list?

Now everybody freak out about black jerseys.

Duke v Florida State
Ryan McMahon amid other ‘Nole linemen

Somehow, we’re closing down our fourth set of number groups in today’s installment of the countdown to Seminole football, as we bid adieu to the 60s, which have been dominated by offensive linemen. And the No. 60 is no exception, as a tackle, center, and guard lead the way.

That tackle is Tarlos Thomas, who followed up a first-team All-ACC selection in the Seminoles’ title season of 1999 with a first-team Walter Camp All-American nod the following year (while somehow slipping back to second-team All-ACC— go figure).

Center Ryan McMahon’s FSU career began with a real bang in 2007, when he garnered first-team Freshman All-American honors from College Football News, the FWAA, and Rivals, while getting a second-team mention from The Sporting News. McMahon followed that up with an Honorable Mention All-ACC selection in 2008, and a second-team All-ACC nod in 2010.

But the accolades for Florida State 60s began with guard Mike Morris, who posted back-to-back first-team All-South Independent seasons in 1990 and 1991.

The other No. 60s in FSU history:

  • Leo Baggett (1954-1956, 1958)
  • Jim Olsen (1954)
  • Joe McGee (1957)
  • Frank DeFrancesco (1959)
  • Ferrell Henry (1960-1963)
  • Larry Williamson (1964-1966)
  • Barry Rice (1967-1969)
  • Clint Parker (1970-1971)
  • Bill Johnson (1972)
  • Mike Kissner (1973-1976)
  • Jimmy Mindlin (1977)
  • Scott McLean (1978-1981)
  • Stan Gavin (1982)
  • John Bamber (1983-1985)
  • Grady Martin (1983)
  • Ken Carr (1986)
  • Marvin Ferrell (1992-1993)
  • Anthony Phillips (1994-1995)
  • Andrew Henry-Kennon (2001-2003)
  • Jacob Fahrenkrug (2011-2013)
  • Andrew Boselli (present)

Which 60 are you taking?