clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

24 days to FSU football: Short ballot for the best ‘Nole No. 24

Football is sneaking up on us. And that’s fantastic.

NCAA Football: Florida State at Florida
Terrance Smith
Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

We’re down to the last two dozen days before the ‘Noles and Rebels kick things off in Orlando, and the countdown continues its way through the top 20s to play at Florida State. Today’s focus: those who’ve worn No. 24.

Just a pair of players have captured All-American honors in the garnet-and-gold 24, beginning with defensive back Harvey Clayton in 1982. That’s when the AP made him an Honorable Mention All-American; he was also a first-team All-South Independent choice that year. Clayton’s nine interceptions at FSU are tied for the 19th most in program history.

Next up is recently departed linebacker Terrance Smith, who was a College Football News second-team Sophomore All-American in Florida State’s title season of 2013. Smith earned All-ACC honors in three straight seasons, as an Honorable Mention in 2013 and 2015 and a second-teamer in 2014. Smith may be most remembered for his 94-yard interception return for a score against UF in 2014 that spawned a Seminole comeback win; it's tied for the fifth longest pick-six in FSU history.

Yet only one ‘Nole 24 has ever been drafted. In 1969, the Cleveland Browns used a seventh-round pick on DB Walt Sumner.

The other Seminoles to have worn No. 24 include some that I suspect may see a decent amount of write-in support:

  • Don Grant (1948)
  • Billy Pat Atkins (1956)
  • Ken Cone (1958-1960)
  • Buddy Yarbrough (1961)
  • John Roberts (1962)
  • Mario DeLiberty (1963)
  • Elton Revell (1964-1965)
  • John Lanahan (1969-1971)
  • Andy Stockton (1972-1975)
  • Mike Kincaid (1976-1977)
  • Darrin Holloman (1983-1986)
  • Paul Moore (1987)
  • Sam Lopez (1988)
  • Felix Harris (1989-1992)
  • Rock Preston (1993-1996)
  • Jeff Chaney (1998-1999)
  • B.J. Ward (2000-2004)
  • Darius McClure (2006-2008)
  • Lonnie Pryor (2009-2012)
  • Matthew McNulty (2013)
  • Marcus Lewis (present)

Time to vote: