clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

19 days to FSU football: Recent FSU kicker leads list of best Seminole 19s

In spite of some stiff competition, the best No. 19 seems clear.

Boston College v Florida State Photo by Jeff Gammons/Getty Images

In Florida State’s long line of illustrious kickers who have gone on to professional careers after their time as Seminoles, the most recent entry may also be the best. Yes, the featured No. 19 is recent graduate Roberto Aguayo, statistically the most accurate kicker in FBS history.

Aguayo, who redshirted behind Dustin Hopkins in 2012 before serving as FSU’s kicker for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 seasons, leaves a historic legacy behind him in Tallahassee. In his first season as the kicker, Aguayo took home the Lou Groza Award, given to the best kicker in the nation, as a part of Florida State’s 2013 National Championship squad. Additionally, he received a number of first-team All-American spots in his redshirt freshman season, including from the Associated Press, Walter Camp, Football Writers Association of America, and USA Today. In 2014, Aguayo was once again a Groza finalist and added another notch to his belt in the form of a consensus All-American nod, the second kicker in program history to accomplish that. In his final year at FSU, Aguayo, in the worst of his three years as a ‘Nole, still earned first-team All-America berths from CBS and Sporting News as well as a second-team bid from USA Today.

On the conference level, Aguayo was honored by the ACC in each of his three seasons as the starter, earning a second-team All-ACC spot in 2013 and making the first team in 2014 and 2015.

Despite the number of exceptional kickers who have come through Florida State, Aguayo’s lingering footprint on the scoring and kicking record books is by far the largest of the bunch. He leaves FSU with the most points scored in a single season by any Seminole ever, 157 in 2013, and also has the third-most points in a single season in program history, 136 in 2014. Even though he was only the starter for three years, his 405 career points is second all-time in school history, behind only Dustin Hopkins, a four-year starter who finished with 466 points.

With regard to kicking records, many of those belong to Aguayo as well. He is the only Seminole kicker to ever go his entire career without missing an extra point, finishing a perfect 198-198. He also tops the list of field goal percentage, both on the season and career level, with a 95.5% (21-22) mark in the 2013 season and a 88.5% (69-78) career mark. His 23 straight converted field goals over a stretch of the 2013 and 2014 seasons is the longest streak in program history and his five field goals made in a single game and 27 field goals made in the 2014 season are both tied for the top mark in their respective categories as well. As mentioned above, Aguayo also holds a national record as his 96.73% conversion rate on all kicks over his three-year career is the highest percentage of all time.

After his incredible collegiate career, Aguayo was selected in the 2nd round of the 2016 NFL Draft (59th overall) by the Tampa Bay Buccaneers, making him the highest-drafted kicker since Mike Nugent went 47th overall in 2005.

Although Aguayo seems poised to be crowned as Florida State’s top No. 19, there are a number of other ‘Noles worthy of mention. First on that list is Gary Huff, a quarterback for the ‘Noles from 1970 to 1972. Huff earned national and conference honors in back-to-back years, breaking onto the scene in 1971 with an honorable mention on the AP’s All-America team and a first-team nod on the All-South Independents team before maintaining his All-South Independents first team honor and adding six different first-team All-American nods in 1972 while simultaneously being named an Academic All-American, the first ‘Nole to make the first team in program history.

Huff’s 6,378 career passing yards at Florida State was the most in program history until Chris Weinke surpassed him in 1999 and that mark is still good for seventh-most in school history. Huff was then drafted in the second round of the 1973 NFL Draft by the Chicago Bears but he is more well known professionally for leading the Tampa Bay Buccaneers to their first win in franchise history in 1977.

Wide receiver E.G. Green was a three-time All-ACC player while wearing the No. 19, earning second-team spots in 1995 and 1996 before cracking the first team in 1997, the same year he also received a pair of second-team All-American nods. At the time of his departure, Green’s 27 receiving touchdowns was the most in FSU history and to this day, that is still tied for the second-most with Rashad Greene. After college, Green was drafted in the third round of the 1998 NFL Draft by the Indianapolis Colts.

Other notable 19s in Florida State history include wide receiver Kurt Unglaub, who was a second-team Freshman All-American in 1976, defensive back Phil Abraira, who was taken in the 15th round of the 1970 NFL Draft, and quarterback Wyatt Sexton, an ACC All-Academic team member in 2004.

The other Seminoles to wear No. 19 are:

  • Robert Grenn (1954)
  • Pete Roberts (1966)
  • Jack Maynard (1973)
  • Pat Milligan (1981-1983)
  • Greg Jacobs (1984)
  • Sam Zighelboim (1984)
  • John Parks (1985-1987)
  • John Wimberly (1989-1992)
  • Gerry Thomas (1991)
  • Mack Knight (1993)
  • Danny Marsee (1993)
  • Greg Moore (1998-2000)
  • Joey Kaleikini (2001)
  • Lemar Parrish (2002)
  • Caz Piurowski (2006)
  • Kenny Ingram (2007-2008)
  • Josh Gehres (2010-2011)
  • Troy Cook (2013-2014)
  • A.J. Westbrook (2015-present)