clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

9 days to FSU football: One receiver stands out at No. 9

It's time to vote for the greatest No. 9 in Florida State football history.

Jeff Gross/Getty Images

The countdown finally reaches the single digits as there are now nine days remaining until Florida State takes on Ole Miss in Orlando to begin the 2016 season.

The name that stands out when regarding the No. 9 uniform is two time All-American Peter Warrick. The receiver earned consensus All-American honors in 1998 and 1999 with publications including the AP, Walter Camp, Football Digest and Sporting News giving the nod to Warrick. Throughout his five years on campus from 1995-1999, Warrick wore the No. 9. Instead of entering the NFL draft following his 1998 All-American season, the then junior decided to return to the school and helped bring in the 'Noles second championship title in 1999. Florida State elected him to the Hall of Fame in 2010 as he still ranks high on the record books in regards to receptions, receiving yards and average yards per reception. In the 2000 NFL Draft, the Cincinnati Bengals selected Warrick with the fourth overall pick, where he would begin a seven year NFL career.

Linebacker Kendyll Pope earned an All-ACC honorable mention in 2001 and was a member of the second team All-ACC in 2002. Following his freshman year, Pope was a first team Freshman All-American by Football News and The Sporting News. After wearing the No. 9 from 2000-2003, the Lake City native was selected in the fourth round of the 2004 NFL Draft by Indianapolis Colts.

Running back Karlos Williams, who played a key role during the 2013 National Championship season, wore No. 9 from 2011-2014. He would go on to get drafted in the fifth round of the 2015 NFL Draft by the Buffalo Bills.

Current sophomore defensive end Josh Sweat was named a Freshman All-American by Campus Insiders following the 2015 season. Sweat is in line to start on the Florida State defense in 2016, looking to add to his accolades.

Here is a list of other players who wore No. 9 for Florida State football:

  • Greg Thompson (1980)
  • Warren Hanna (1981, 1982)
  • Steve Bloodworth (1983)
  • John Ricciardi (1984)
  • Bill Richardson (1984)
  • Phillip Bryant (1985-1986)
  • Ed Smith (1987)
  • Richie Andrews (1988-1989)
  • Dan Mowrey (1990-1992)
  • Xavier Lee (2004-2006)
  • Richard Goodman (2007-2009)
  • Clint Trickett (2010-2012)
  • Jacques Patrick (2015-Present)