clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

8 days to FSU football: Which No. 8 was the greatest in Seminole history?

Only eight more days until Florida State takes on Ole Miss in Orlando to begin the 2016 season.

Steve Mitchell-USA TODAY Sports

Only eight days separate Florida State and Ole Miss from playing each other to begin the 2016 college football season for both teams. As always, don't forget to cast your vote for the greatest No. 8 in Florida State history.

Defensive back Corey Sawyer donned the No. 8 from 1990-1993, while earning a plethora of awards over his final two years on campus. In '92, the AP and Football News named Sawyer to their second team All-American list and United Press gave the Floridian an honorable mention. He broke out in '93 when the Consensus All-American was named a first team All-American by the AP, Football News, United Press and Sporting News. Sawyer was drafted in the fourth round by the Cincinnati Bengals where he would begin a six year NFL career.

Another defensive back by the name of Jalen Ramsey would also go on to be a consensus All-American. In 2014, Scout and USA Today named Ramsey to their first team All-American list while he received second team honors from the AP, Sports Illustrated, Football Writers Association and The Sporting News. in 2015, the then consensus All-American earned first team honors from Walter Camp and Football Coaches Association while earning a second team nod by the AP, CBS Sports, USA Today, and Sports Illustrated. After wearing No. 8 during his final two years on campus in 2014 and 2015, the Jacksonville Jaguars selected Ramsey fifth overall in the 2016 NFL Draft.

Wide receiver Terry Anthony was an All-American honorable mention in 1988 by the AP and Sporting News and in 1989 by Sporting News. Anthony played all four years with the No. 8 from 1986 to 1989 before being selected in the 11th round of the 1990 NFL Draft by Tampa Bay.

Timmy Jernigan, defensive tackle who wore No. 8 from 2011-2013, earned numerous titles while at Florida State. In 2011, Football Writers Association named Jernigan to its first team freshman All-American and in 2013, was named by at least one prominent news source on all three All-Amercan teams. ESPN named the Lake City native to its first team, CBS Sports, USA Today and Sports Illustrated had him listed on their second team and Lindy's gave Jernigan third team honors. After winning a national championship with FSU in 2013, he would be selected in the second round of the 2014 NFL draft by the Baltimore Ravens.

Devonta Freeman, also a member of that 2013 national championship team, was a freshman All-American honorable mention in 2011 and a first team All-ACC member in 2013. He wore No. 8 from 2011-2013 before taking his talents to the NFL when the Atlanta Falcons drafted the running back in the fourth round. In his second NFL season, Freeman went on to become a pro bowl selection.

Defensive back Clevan Thomas was named to the second team All-ACC in his fourth and final year on campus. Florida State's No. 8 from 1996-2000 played in 42 total games during his time at FSU. Defensive back Bryant McFadden was a second team All-ACC member in 2004. He wore the No. 8 from 2001-2004 before beginning a seven year NFL career. The Pittsburgh Steelers selected McFadden in the second round of the 2005 NFL Draft.

Wide receiver Kermit Whitfield made All-ACC teams at two different positions in 2015. He was on the second team for his work as a receiver and was an honorable mention for his role as kick returner. Whitfield still dons the No. 8 ever since his sophomore year in 2014.

Despite not making any postseason teams, defensive back Eric Riley was selected in the eighth round of the 1985 NFL Draft by the Denver Broncos.

Here are some other 'Noles who wore No. 8 in their time at Florida State:

  • Anthony Johnson (1985)
  • Scott Edwards (1989)
  • Magic Benton (1994)
  • Damian Harrell (1995-1997)
  • Roger Williams (2005-2007)
  • Taiwan Easterling (2009-2010)
  • Chad Colley (2009-2010)

Don't forget to vote below!