clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

6 days to FSU football: Lambeau Leap originator leads top Florida State 6s

Less than a week until Florida State’s 2016 season gets underway.

Greg Jones runs with the ball Photo by Andy Lyons/Getty Images

As the days dwindle on Tomahawk Nation’s countdown of the greatest Seminoles to wear each number, we are now firmly into the single digits. With that, today’s entry presents a player who accomplished the rare feat of being named a consensus All-American while sporting the No. 6 at Florida State.

LeRoy Butler is undoubtedly a Florida State legend. He donned the 6 for his final three years at FSU, 1987 to 1989. Of those three, Butler only earned honors in one of those seasons, his senior campaign, 1989. That year, Butler racked up seven interceptions, tied for fourth-most in program history to this day. Butler’s phenomenal season did not go unnoticed. He was named a consensus All-American, earning five All-America honors, and was also named a first-team All-South Independents player.

Butler’s fantastic senior season earned him heavy draft consideration. He was a second round selection, 48th overall, by the Green Bay Packers in the 1990 NFL Draft. Butler, who spent his entire 12-year professional career as a Packer, was a member of the Super Bowl XXXI winning Packers team and was a four-time Pro Bowler. Butler’s 38 career interceptions in the NFL is no laughing matter but perhaps his biggest career contribution to the Packers is that he was the originator of the now-famous Lambeau Leap.

Butler has been enshrined both in Tallahassee and Green Bay as he was inducted into the FSU Athletics Hall of Fame in 2001 and into the Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame in 2007.

Not to be forgotten in Butler’s shadow is notable Seminole punter Louis Berry. Berry was a three-time honorable mention on the Associated Press’ All-America team in 1984, 1985, and 1986 as well as a two-time first-team All-South Independents honoree (1984 and 1986).

A number of additional ‘Noles earned honors while wearing No. 6. Defensive back Derrick Gibson was a two-time All-ACC player, notching a second-team spot in 1999 and a first-team nod in 2000 before he was a 28th overall draft pick in the 2001 NFL Draft by the Oakland Raiders. Running back Greg Jones, No. 7 on Florida State’s all-time rushing yards list with 2,535 rushing yards and most well-known for this hit which will likely never be forgotten, was a second-team All-ACC player in 2002 ahead of his second-round selection in the 2004 NFL Draft. Antone Smith, who has the ninth-most rushing yards in program history, earned an honorable mention on 2008’s All-ACC team. Finally, defensive back Steve Gilmer was an Academic All-ACC player for his work in the classroom during the 1994 season.

The other Seminoles to wear No. 6 are:

  • Dennis McKinnon (1980-1982)
  • Bill Mason (1986)
  • Grady Ross (1990)
  • Harold Wright (1993)
  • Troy Sanders (1994)
  • Robert Hammond (1995-1997)
  • Anquan Boldin (1999)
  • Anthony Bredwood (2001)
  • Willie Jones (2004-2005)
  • Gerald Demps (2010)
  • Nick Waisome (2011-2014)
  • Dan Hicks (2013)
  • Larry Lawson III (2013)
  • Ryan Green (2014)
  • Everett Golson (2015)
  • Matthew Thomas (2015-present)