clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FSU football #4 in the 2016 preseason Coaches Poll

Can't complain much about that.

Doak Campbell Stadium

At approximately noon today, the Florida State football program will find out just what coaches across the country think of it entering the 2016 season. That’s when the USA Today’s preseason Coaches Poll will be released— and we’ll have it here when it drops. Most expect the ‘Noles to be somewhere around the top five; given the historically conservative nature of the voting in this poll, it’d be quite shocking if the ‘Noles were ranked any higher than third. Last year’s national championship finalists, Alabama and Clemson, both figure to begin ahead of Florida State. But where have the Seminoles been in this initial poll as of late?

Here’s a look at where the Seminoles have started in the Jimbo Fisher era:

2015: No. 8

2014: No. 1

2013: No. 12

2012: No. 7

2011: No. 5

2010: No. 20

So, where should FSU be in this year’s first Coaches Poll?


FSU starts the season ranked fourth behind Alabama, Clemson, and Oklahoma. FSU was also one of four teams to receive a first-place vote, tied with #10 Tennessee.

The ACC has four teams in the poll (#2 Clemson, #4 FSU, #20 North Carolina, #23 Louisville), with Miami sitting at #26 from the well-known Richt bump.

For reference, here are the voters contributing to the poll:

The Amway Board of Coaches is made up of 64 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2016 season: Chris Ash, Rutgers; Dino Babers, Syracuse; David Bailiff, Rice; David Beaty, Kansas; Bret Bielema, Arkansas; John Bonamego, Central Michigan; Terry Bowden, Akron; Matt Campbell, Iowa State; Ron Caragher, San Jose State; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Paul Chryst, Wisconsin; Chris Creighton, Eastern Michigan; David Cutcliffe, Duke; DJ Durkin, Maryland; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; James Franklin, Penn State; Justin Fuente, Virginia Tech; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bryan Harsin, Boise State; Clay Helton, Southern California; Tom Herman, Houston; Doc Holliday, Marshall; Skip Holtz, Louisiana Tech; Joey Jones, South Alabama, Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Sean Kugler, Texas-El Paso; Mike Leach, Washington State; Lance Leipold, Buffalo; Seth Littrell, North Texas; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Mike MacIntyre, Colorado; Gus Malzahn, Auburn; Chuck Martin, Miami (Ohio); Doug Martin, New Mexico State; Derek Mason, Vanderbilt; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Trent Miles, Georgia State; Philip Montgomery, Tulsa; Scottie Montgomery, East Carolina; Chad Morris, Southern Methodist; Dan Mullen, Mississippi State; Mike Norvell, Memphis; Gary Patterson, TCU; Chris Petersen, Washington; Brian Polian, Nevada; Mark Richt, Miami (Fla.); Mike Riley, Nebraska; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Tony Sanchez, UNLV; Scott Satterfield, Appalachian State; Kirby Smart, Georgia; Frank Solich, Ohio; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee State; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati; Ron Turner, Florida International; Matt Wells, Utah State; Kyle Whittingham, Utah; Kevin Wilson, Indiana; Everett Withers, Texas State.