clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

30 days to FSU football: Numerous ‘Noles with a shot at Florida State’s best No. 30

Could be another close one...

Shevin Smith
Shevin Smith
Andy Lyons/Getty Images

Less than a month until Florida State opens its 2016 season. Crazy, huh? Players like Dalvin Cook and Derwin James will begin their campaigns for All-American honors. No Seminole No. 30 has ever attained that prestigious honor— although several have been acknowledged on the all-conference level.

The accolades began with running back Tom Bailey in 1970. He was an Honorable Mention All-South Independent selection that year, the third of three years in which he led the FSU ground game. His 1,714 yards are still the 18th most in a ‘Nole career. Bailey was a tenth-round pick of the Philadelphia Eagles in 1971.

Defensive back Larry Harris was a second-team All-South Independent choice in 1982, when he registered six interceptions, a total that remains tied for the seventh-most in a Florida State season. His nine career picks are still tied for 19th all-time as a Seminole.

But fellow DB Shevin Smith is the only No. 30 to garner all-conference honors twice for FSU. He was an All-ACC Honorable Mention in 1996, and a second-team selection in 1997. A year later, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers made him a sixth-round draft pick.

The other ‘Nole 30s drafted are running back Bill Moremen, who was a 14th-round New York Giants pick in 1968, and in 1995, receiver Omar Ellison was drafted by the San Diego Chargers in the fifth round. Linebacker Derek Nicholson earns a mention here as well, as he secured All-ACC Academic honors in 2007.

These Seminole No. 30s round out the list:

  • Dick Kendall (1948)
  • Vic Szczepanik (1949)
  • Hobo Ackerman (1954)
  • Brent Norris (1970)
  • John Kilmurray (1972)
  • Jeff Leggett (1973-1976)
  • Keith Kennedy (1977-1979)
  • Terry Griggley (1984-1985)
  • Dexter Carter (1986)
  • Tanner Holloman (1986)
  • Stanley Hall (1987)
  • Tommy Henry (1988-1989)
  • Jeremi Rudolph (1995)
  • Damon Carrell (1997)
  • Stanford Samuels (1998-1999)
  • Brandon Myers (2000)
  • Patrick Newton (2001-2002)
  • Lamar Lewis (2004-2005)
  • Jajuan Harley (2009)
  • Tyler Hunter (2011)
  • Colin Blake (2012-2013)
  • Ryan DiMarco (2012)
  • Keijofer Pittman (2013)
  • Sh'Mar Kilby-Lane (2015-present)

I wrote— you vote: