clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

3 days to FSU football: A long list of No. 3s to choose from

Three more days left until the 2016 Florida State football season gets under way.

Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

Only three days remain until Florida State begins its 2016 season with a matchup against Ole Miss in Orlando. As always, you can cast your vote for the top No. 3 in FSU football history in the poll below this article.

Punter Rohn Stark was an All-American in 1980 and 1981. He was named to the first team by many different publications including Sporting News, Football Writers Association, and United Press International. Stark still holds many records for punting at Florida State, which earned him an induction into the FSU Football Hall of Fame in 1986. After wearing the No. 3 from 1978-1981, Stark was drafted by Baltimore Colts in the second round of the 1982 NFL Draft.

The 'Noles had three other punters wear the No. 3 and win postseason honors. Duane Carrel, 1970 All-South Independen  honorable mention, wore No. 3 from 1969-1971. In 1974, Joe Downey was a second-team All-South Independent member. He wore No. 3 from 1972-1974. The succeeding punter, Florida State's No. 3 from 1975-1977, was 1977 second team All-South Independent member Bill Duley.

Receiver Hassan Jones, No. 3 in 1982, was a freshman first-team All-American by Football News. Following his time at FSU, the Floridian would go on to be selected in the fifth round of the 1986 NFL Draft by the Minnesota Vikings, where he would begin an eight year NFL career.

Wide receiver Herb Gainer, All-American honorable mention in 1987 by the Associated Press, wore the No. 3 at Florida State from 1983-1987. He was also a second-team All-South Independent member in 1986 and 1987.

Myron Rolle, a three time ACC All-academic team member from 2006-2008, donned the No. 3 from 2006-2008 as well. The defensive back was a first-team freshman All-American in 2006 and a third team member in 2008 by the AP. Rolle also made the All-ACC team in 2006 as an honorable mention and 2008 on the second team. He would go on to be selected in the sixth round of the 2010 NFL draft to the Tennessee Titans.

Recently, cornerback Ronald Darby was a 2012 freshman All-American and wore the No. 3 in his final two years on campus in 2013 and 2014. After winning a national championship, the defensive back was drafted in the second round of the 2015 NFL Draft by the Buffalo Bills.

QB EJ Manuel also wore the No. 3 from 2008-2012, capping off his FSU career with a second-team All-ACC selection in his senior season. In the 2013 NFL Draft, Manuel was the first QB off the board when the Buffalo Bills selected him 16th overall.

Defensive back Leon Fowler was a second team All-ACC member in 1992, his senior year. In all, the two sport athlete wore No. 3 from 1988-1992 and played baseball in 1989. Derwin James, another defensive back, was also an All-ACC selection, being named to the third team in 2015. He will enter his sophomore year and wear the No. 3 for the second consecutive year. James was also a first team All-American freshman in 2015 according toESPN, USA Today and Sports Illustrated.

Kicker Scott Bentley started and ended his Florida State with All-ACC selections. In 1993, he was a member of the third team while earning an honorable mention in 1996. He wore No. 3 every season when he played from 1993-1996. Following his stay in Tallahassee, Bentley signed as an un drafted free agent following the 1997 NFL Draft for the Denver Broncos.

Leon Washington, running back who wore No. 3 from 2003-2005, was on the second-team All-ACC following the 2004 campaign. The New York Jets selected him with its fourth round pick in the 2006 NFL Draft where Washington would begin a nine year NFL career.

Here are some other 'Noles who wore No. 3:

  • Rick Tuten (1986)
  • Richie Andrews (1987)
  • Tres Walton (1996-1998)
  • Malcolm Tatum (1998-2002)
  • Justin Bright (2010-2012)
  • Jesus "Bobo" Wilson (2013-present)

Don't forget to vote below!