clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2 days to FSU football: No. 2 belongs to Prime Time

New, 42 comments

Only two days left until FSU takes the field against Ole Miss to begin the 2016 college football season.

John Biever - Getty Images

Two days, dos días, are what separate today and the start of Florida State football's 2016 season opener against Ole Miss.

The one and only Deion Sanders was no doubt Florida State's best No. 2, if not overall player in school history. "Prime time," as he is better known as, was a first-team All-American in 1986 by The Sporting News, in 1987 by the AP, Walter Camp, Football News, Football Writers Association, United Press and The Sporting News and in 1988 by the same publications as in 1987. He was an consensus first-team All-American in 1987 and 1988, his junior and senior seasons. After wearing No. 23 in 1985 while also playing receiver, Sanders wore No. 2 from 1986-1988 before he entered the professional ranks. He was drafted fifth overall in the 1989 NFL Draft by the Atlanta Falcons, the beginning of his 14 year NFL career. While in the NFL, the two sport athlete also played in the MLB from 1989-2001. Sanders is a member of the NFL Hall of Fame, College Football Hall of Fame, and Florida State football Hall of Fame. He is only one of 10 players in FSU history to have their number retired.

Defensive back Clifton Abraham was Florida State's No. 2 from 1990-1994. The Texas native was an All-American honorable mention in 1993 and a consensus All-American in 1994. The 1993 and 1994 first team All-ACC member was elected into the Florida State football Hall of Fame in 2008. Following his time in Tallahassee, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers selected Abraham in the fifth round of the 1995 NFL Draft.

FSU's No. 2 from 1994-1997, defensive back Samari Rolle, was a third team All-American in 1997. Rolle Also made the All-ACC team as a first team member in that 1997 season. He too would have a lengthy NFL career, playing 12 years at the professional ranks after being selected in the second round of the 1998 NFL Draft by the Tennessee Oilers.

Here are some other No. 2s in FSU history:

  • Reggie Webb (1980)
  • Steve Nicklaus (1981-1984)
  • Ronnie Andrew (1985)
  • Patrick White (1985)
  • Eric Turral (1989)