clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FSU baseball’s schedule in the ACC Tournament and 2017 Baseball Awards

A look at the dates and opponents that Florida State will play in the ACC Tournament.

Larry Novey

After sweeping the Cardinals on the road in a two game series to finish the regular season, the Seminoles will remain in Louisville for the upcoming ACC Tournament taking place this week. The Seminoles wrapped up the regular season with a 35-20 record and a 14-14 record in the ACC.

As the No. 8 seed, FSU was paired up with No. 1 seed Louisville and No. 12 seed Notre Dame in Pool A. Earlier this season, Florida State swept Notre Dame on the road, outscoring the Irish 21-6 in that series.

The ‘Noles will open up its ACC Tournament pool play against Notre Dame at 11 AM on Wednesday. It will wrap up pool against Louisville on Friday at 3 PM.

If Florida State wins Pool A, it will then play again on Saturday at 1 PM against the winner of Pool D which is made up of Virginia, Clemson and Duke. Florida State went a combined 3-3 against Virginia and Clemson (FSU did not play Duke in 2017).

The championship game will be held on Sunday, May 28th at noon on ESPN 2.

All games will be able to be streamed on Watch ESPN.


The 2017 ACC Baseball Honors were just released and Louisville junior two-way standout Brendan McKay has been voted the Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Player of the Year by the league’s head coaches, while North Carolina junior J.B. Bukauskas received the nod as Pitcher of the Year. Florida State sophomore, Tyler Holton, had virtually identical numbers to the two above mentioned players and he won ACC Pitcher of the Week 5 of the 14 weeks it was awarded. However, his team finished 8th in the conference and he didn’t stand much of a chance, he was awarded the Seminoles’ lone first team player, the rest of the awards are below.

Player of the Year

Brendan McKay, Louisville

Pitcher of the Year

J.B. Bukauskas, North Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year

Devin Hairston, Louisville

Freshman of the Year

Ashton McGee, North Carolina

Coach of the Year

Dan McDonnell, Louisville

2017 All-ACC Baseball Teams

First Team

C - Ben Breazeale, Wake Forest

1B - Pavin Smith, Virginia

1B - Gavin Sheets, Wake Forest

2B - Wade Bailey, Georgia Tech

3B - Drew Ellis, Louisville

SS - Logan Warmoth, North Carolina

OF - Brian Miller, North Carolina

OF - Adam Haseley, Virginia

OF - Stuart Fairchild, Wake Forest

OF - Reed Rohlman, Clemson

DH/UT - Brendan McKay, Louisville

SP - Tyler Holton, Florida State

SP - Brendan McKay, Louisville

SP - J.B. Bukauskas, North Carolina

RP - Lincoln Henzman, Louisville

RP - Josh Hiatt, North Carolina

Second Team

C - Joey Bart, Georgia Tech

C - Colby Fitch, Louisville

1B - Sam Fragale, Virginia Tech

2B - Jake Mueller, Wake Forest

3B - Johnny Aiello, Wake Forest

SS - Joe Dunand, NC State

OF - Seth Beer, Clemson

OF - Griffin Conine, Duke

OF - Cameron Simmons, Virginia

OF - Tom Stoffel, Virginia Tech

DH/UT - Quincy Nieporte, Florida State

SP - Pat Krall, Clemson

SP - Jeb Bargfeldt, Miami

SP - Parker Dunshee, Wake Forest

SP - Connor Johnstone, Wake Forest

RP - Griffin Roberts, Wake Forest

Third Team

C - Robbie Coman, Virginia

1B - Andrew Cox, Clemson

2B - Jack Owens, Virginia Tech

3B - Dylan Busby, Florida State

3B - Trevor Craport, Georgia Tech

SS - Devin Hairston, Louisville

SS - Ernie Clement, Virginia

OF - Chase Pinder, Clemson

OF - Matt Vierling, Notre Dame

OF - Jonathan Pryor, Wake Forest

DH/UT - Brad Debo, NC State

SP - Charlie Barnes, Clemson

SP - Kade McClure, Louisville

SP - Nick Bennett, Louisville

SP - Gianluca Dalatri, North Carolina

RP - Tommy Doyle, Virginia

All-Freshman Team

SS - Logan Davidson, Clemson

OF - J.C. Flowers, Florida State

1B - Drew Mendoza, Florida State

SS - Austin Wilhite, Georgia Tech

SP - Nick Bennett, Louisville

SP - Gianluca Dalatri, North Carolina

DH/UT - Ashton McGee, North Carolina

SP - Michael Bienlien, NC State

DH/UT - Brad Debo, NC State

2B - Will Wilson, NC State

2B - Alex Amos, Pittsburgh

SP - Noah Murdock, Virginia