clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

The history of Florida State baseball in the College World Series

Perhaps the 22nd time could be the charm.

Florida State V USC

After a less than ideal start to its 2017 season, Florida State baseball made a complete turnaround and in-part to a season ending 18-3 record, the ‘Noles find themselves playing in its 22nd College World Series in school history. The 2017 team’s 45 total wins are the fewest of any FSU squad to earn a trip to Omaha since 1965. The 22 appearances are tied for third most all-time behind Miami (25) and Texas (35).

As every Seminoles fan knows, FSU has yet to win the title and holds the most appearances of any school without winning it all. The 21 titleless appearances are nine appearances more than the next team on the list, the Clemson Tigers.

This seems to be a common trend in the ACC which surprisingly only has two College World Series champions in the history of the conference; Wake Forest in 1955 and Virginia in 2015.

Florida State has come close to winning before, reaching the finals three times; in 1970, 1986 and 1999.

The last time Florida State made the College World Series was back in 2012. The five year drought between CWS appearances was the longest since 2000-2008. In total, FSU has made the trip to Omaha five times since 2000 and 12 times since 1990. The ‘Noles own a .400 winning percentage in Omaha and win, on average, 1.33 times per appearance.

In Florida State’s side of the 2017 College World Series bracket is Oregon State, Cal State Fullerton and LSU. Combined, FSU is 20-16 all time against Fullerton and LSU. (13-6 vs. LSU, 7-10 vs. CSF). Cal State is just one of nine teams that Florida State has played at least three games against and has a losing record against. To put that into perspective, Florida State has played 231 different opponents a least three times.

All-time in the College World Series, FSU is 2-1 against LSU and 1-3 vs. Cal State Fullerton. If Florida State plays against Oregon State, it will be the first time the two teams have ever played each other.

The 2017 College World Series begins on Saturday and runs through June 28th.