clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four more Seminoles become Super Bowl champions

FSU was well represented in Minneapolis. And on the podium.

NFL: NFC Championship-Minnesota Vikings at Philadelphia Eagles Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

Never a doubt, right? Haha, hardly. But while the result was in doubt until the very final play, the Philadelphia Eagles still defeated the New England Patriots 41-33 to win Super Bowl LII and bring the City of Brotherly Love its first ever Super Bowl championship.

Of course, a big part of the Eagles’ success this season was their stout defense, which featured no less than four de facto starters, at least one at each level of the celebrated D. Up front, defensive tackle Timmy Jernigan spearheaded the attack, while Nigel Bradham led the Philly linebackers. In the secondary, cornerback Ronald Darby, like Jernigan, will have a Super Bowl ring to match the 2013 bling he earned as a member of FSU’s national title team. Nickel back Patrick Robinson, the senior ’Nole on the squad, will also receive some new jewelry.

Florida State had 31 former players with Super Bowl rings, and that number is now 35. The four ’Noles on a Super Bowl championship roster matches the most ever on a title team, tied with the four Seminoles who won the 2003 Super Bowl with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers (Derrick Brooks, Dexter Jackson, Brad Johnson, and Greg Spires).