clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

FSU football names 2018 captains

New, comments

Only one senior makes the cut.

NCAA Football: ACC Media Days Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

One of the challenges facing new Florida State football head coach Willie Taggart is fostering leadership on a team that didn’t always show much of it during last season’s tumultuous campaign. And evidently a trio have distinguished themselves, as Taggart announced this weekend that redshirt-senior center Alec Eberle, junior defensive end Brian Burns, and junior placekicker Ricky Aguayo will serve as the team’s permanent 2018 captains.

Eberle has been a fixture up front for the Seminoles and shown a great deal of heart in playing through injury. Burns has finished second on the team in sacks in each of his first two seasons with the ’Noles, coming in behind current NFL players DeMarcus Walker and Josh Sweat in 2016 and 2017, respectively. And Aguayo connected on 85.7% of his field goal attempts last season, along with 42 of 44 extra points.

It’ll be interesting to see if these players lead vocally, by example— or both.