clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

FSU football makes across-the-board depth-chart changes for Syracuse

A demotion for a well-known senior?

NCAA Football: Florida State at Syracuse Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

Saturday will mark a first for the Willie Taggart era at Florida State— specifically, the new head coach’s first road game, which will take place far from Tallahassee; at noon, the Seminoles will kickoff in New York against the Syracuse Orange. And the ’Noles will do so with depth-chart changes to all three facets of their roster.

Let’s start with the offense. After suffering a knee injury against Samford on Saturday, Khalan Laborn has been removed from the running back depth, which still boasts a talented four-deep look.

At the receiver spot, Nyqwan Murray and Keyshawn Helton are no longer listed as co-starters at one of the wide receiver spots with D.J. Matthews. Instead, Matthews is now alone atop that group, followed by Murray, and then Helton. Murray’s blocking in an offense that depends heavily on that skill — and it is most certainly a skill, one primarily based on effort — has left much to be desired thus far.

At another WR position, Tamorrion Terry retains his top-line status, but whereas Ontaria Wilson and Tre’Shaun Harrison had been named as equal backups, Wilson now holds the second spot, with Harrison third.

The linebacker position has been rightfully spotlighted so far this season, and a change has been made there as well. Instead of Adonis Thomas and DeCalon Brooks being listed as co-starters at the SAM LB spot, Brooks is now on paper as the clear starter, ahead of Thomas and Emmett Rice.

Jaiden Woodbey continues to hold down the STAR position, but his backup, previously Calvin Brewton, is now converted running back Zaquandre White. At the boundary corner position, Kyle Meyers retains the top spot, ahead of Isaiah Boldin. Last week, the second-stringer behind him was A.J. Lytton.

Special teams have seen a shift as well. The kickoff-return depth on one side remains Amir Rasul followed by Anthony Grant. The other spot, however, has changed from Keith Gavin and then Laborn to White and Harrison.