clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

DT Marvin Wilson named to 2019 Bednarik Award Watch List

He is the sole Seminole included on the list.

COLLEGE FOOTBALL: NOV 18 Delaware State at Florida State Photo by Logan Stanford/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The Maxwell Football Club announced its preseason watch list for the Chuck Bednarik Award on Monday afternoon. The award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the year since 1995. Florida State defensive tackle Marvin Wilson is one of 80 players to be included on the list and is the sole Seminole.

In the Houston native’s breakout sophomore season, he recorded 42 tackles, including 4.5 for loss with 3.5 sacks, four quarterback hurries, two pass breakups and one forced fumble. Wilson was arguably Florida State’s most consistent player in 2018 and will likely be a vital part of the Seminole’s success on defense.

Wilson has already received numerous accolades this summer including preseason All-America honors from Athlon and Phil Steele and is considered among the nation’s elite interior defensive linemen.

Former Florida State defensive end Brian Burns was named a top-20 semi-finalist for the award last year. The awards are given by the Maxwell Football Club, which will announce semifinalists on October 29, 2019 and finalists on November 25, 2019.

Wilson will accompany FSU head coach Willie Taggart to the ACC Kickoff this week which takes place on July 17-18 in Charlotte, North Carolina. Wide Receiver Tamorrion Terry will represent the ’Noles as well.