clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Warrick Dunn, Peter Warrick, Marvin Jones nominated for College Football Hall of Fame

Could three Garnet and Gold greats be enshrined soon?


Three Florida State football legends could be hearing their names called again soon, as Marvin Jones, Peter Warrick and Warrick Dunn have all been nominated for enshrinement into the College Football Hall of Fame. Dunn and Warrick are first-time nominees, while Jones finds himself on the ballot once again.

The ballot contains 78 players and 7 coaches from the FBS division. Players are eligible if they are 10 full seasons removed from their final year of college football and have received first-team All-America honors by an organization recognized by the NCAA.

Dunn famously helped Bobby Bowden win his first National Championship and stands second on FSU’s all-time rushing list with 3,959 yards (behind Dalvin Cook) and still holds the record of 49 TDs from scrimmage (one ahead of Cook). He is perhaps best remembered for silencing the Swamp:

Warrick led FSU to a wire-to-wire National Championship in 1999, dazzling the nation with his talent and athleticism. Warrick stands third on FSU’s all-time receiving yardage list with 3,517 yards and remains the top dog with 32 touchdown catches. He finished off his career with an incredible performance against Virginia Tech in the Sugar Bowl:

Jones, a two-time All-American famously known as Shade Tree, was part of a Seminoles squad that finished in the top five three times, winning the 1992 Butkus and Lombardi trophies. Please enjoy this moment of violence:

Some of his other accomplishments:

  • Back-to-back 1st team All-American nods, consensus in 1991 and unanimous in 1992
  • 236 tackles, 19 for loss, in just 22 games (bowls not included), leading FSU in all three years he played
  • His 369 tackles (in just 33 games) in his career rank 8th all-time in FSU history and he’s the only guy in the top 10 who played less than four seasons
  • 1992 Butkus Award winner, and when presented the award, Butkus himself told him, “thanks for being yourself and playing the game the way it should be played.”
  • 1992 Lombardi Award winner, becoming FSU’s first football player to win two national awards in the same season
  • 4th place finish in the 1992 Heisman Trophy voting

The full list of nominees can be found here. The 2022 class will be announced early next year and will be inducted during the 64nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6, 2022, in New York.